image
image

Go Back   macosx.com > Community > Bob's Place

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old April 21st, 2006, 10:27 PM
Amie's Avatar
Mac Convert for Life
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,263
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Amie is on a distinguished road
eBay Computer Scam?

Apparently, they are selling new PowerBooks on eBay for $5 (free shipping). Something tells me there's something VERY wrong with this. I'm highly suspicious. I would appreciate if someone would go to eBay, do a search, read about the items listed, and share your thoughts with me? It's a joke, right?
__________________
I have an iBook G4 with 1.25 GB RAM. I'm cool now.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old April 21st, 2006, 10:34 PM
eric2006's Avatar
iMovie Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 3,194
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
eric2006 is on a distinguished road
What listings? Either it has been removed already, or the powerbooks had a starting bid of 5 dollars.

But, yes, no one in their sane mind would sell powerbooks for 5 bucks. Unless they were very rich.
__________________
Power to Burn.
At speeds of up to 733MHz,
The most powerful Mac in history
burns CDs, burns DVDs, and
burns Pentiums

- apple website, oct 4, 1999. advertisement for the powermac g4
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old April 22nd, 2006, 02:21 AM
symphonix's Avatar
Scratch & Sniff Committee
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: The Australian Jungles
Posts: 4,025
Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
symphonix is on a distinguished road
My rule of thumb is, if you have to ask "is this a scam?", then it almost certainly is. A link would be good, as we could really look at it then.

I did see something recently on BoingBoing.com (can't locate it now) about an auction for a PowerMac quad G5 that closed at well over $1000, and the listing was titled something like PowerMac Quad G5 with Studio Display! NEW! List and the page long sales spiel about how great the PowerMac was ended with the words "This auction is for a list of suppliers who can provide you with a PowerMac at massively discounted prices."

So, in essence, some poor sucker paid over $1000 for a piece of paper advising them of where they can buy a PowerMac. I think its currently under review by eBay and the courts, but it'll be a while before the buyers get their $$$ back.

EDIT: while hunting, I found this: http://www.boingboing.net/2002/10/15...id_on_the.html

Quote:
Caution: U r bidding on the oppritunity to buy me one of these players, not urself. so don't expect to recieve one.
Ha ha ha! Some people will try anything. Thats tantamount to walking up to someone in the street and muttering really quickly "If you say what then you agree to give me your wallet.", stealing their wallet, and expecting to be able to use that as a defense later in court.

And this one is great: http://www.boingboing.net/2004/05/14...tist_inte.html

Quote:
... culminated with him taking delivery of a "P-P-P-Powerbook" made out of keyboard bits glued to an old binder
And ... http://www.boingboing.net/2003/10/03..._ebay_one.html

He he - an Air Guitar. Nice!

And I finally found the article. Wow, my memory of it was way off. It was $51 paid for the list for an LCD monitor. http://www.boingboing.net/2006/03/06...n_does_th.html
__________________
- iMac G5 1.8GHZ 17" | SuperDrive | 160GB | 512MB | Airport Extreme | Bluetooth Keyboard & Mouse | Wacom Intuos II
- Pentax *ist DL - JVC MiniDV Camcorder - Airport Express - iPod Nano 1gb white

Last edited by symphonix; April 22nd, 2006 at 02:45 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old April 22nd, 2006, 03:56 PM
Amie's Avatar
Mac Convert for Life
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,263
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Amie is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by symphonix
My rule of thumb is, if you have to ask "is this a scam?", then it almost certainly is. A link would be good, as we could really look at it then.

I did see something recently on BoingBoing.com (can't locate it now) about an auction for a PowerMac quad G5 that closed at well over $1000, and the listing was titled something like PowerMac Quad G5 with Studio Display! NEW! List and the page long sales spiel about how great the PowerMac was ended with the words "This auction is for a list of suppliers who can provide you with a PowerMac at massively discounted prices."

So, in essence, some poor sucker paid over $1000 for a piece of paper advising them of where they can buy a PowerMac. I think its currently under review by eBay and the courts, but it'll be a while before the buyers get their $$$ back.

EDIT: while hunting, I found this: http://www.boingboing.net/2002/10/15...id_on_the.html



Ha ha ha! Some people will try anything. Thats tantamount to walking up to someone in the street and muttering really quickly "If you say what then you agree to give me your wallet.", stealing their wallet, and expecting to be able to use that as a defense later in court.

And this one is great: http://www.boingboing.net/2004/05/14...tist_inte.html



And ... http://www.boingboing.net/2003/10/03..._ebay_one.html

He he - an Air Guitar. Nice!

And I finally found the article. Wow, my memory of it was way off. It was $51 paid for the list for an LCD monitor. http://www.boingboing.net/2006/03/06...n_does_th.html
LOL!!!

Unbelievable. I'm sure glad *I* didn't bid.

Good hunting.
__________________
I have an iBook G4 with 1.25 GB RAM. I'm cool now.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old April 22nd, 2006, 04:14 PM
Amie's Avatar
Mac Convert for Life
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,263
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Amie is on a distinguished road
Just an update: When you mentioned that you couldn't find any listings like that, I did a search on eBay myself. Nothing! They just ... poofed. Weird. There were at least three listings like that when I started this thread. They might have sold really fast, but I doubt people are that stupid to buy such a suspicious product at such a ridiculous price. More than likely, the seller had complaints and scam report alerts from eBay and quickly removed his listings.

I even e-mailed the seller and said something like, "Why on Earth would you sell a PowerBook for $5? This is a joke, right? If you *are* serious, e-mail me with more information. If you don't reply, I'll know it's a scam."

And guess what? He didn't reply. Big surprise. lol
__________________
I have an iBook G4 with 1.25 GB RAM. I'm cool now.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old April 23rd, 2006, 08:27 AM
bobw's Avatar
The Late: SuperMacMod
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Phila,PA
Posts: 8,835
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 1 Post
bobw has a spectacular aura aboutbobw has a spectacular aura about
Moved to Cafe
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old April 23rd, 2006, 10:39 AM
Amie's Avatar
Mac Convert for Life
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,263
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Amie is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobw
Moved to Cafe
Thanks, Bob.
__________________
I have an iBook G4 with 1.25 GB RAM. I'm cool now.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old April 23rd, 2006, 10:40 AM
Amie's Avatar
Mac Convert for Life
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,263
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Amie is on a distinguished road
Did some more eBay digging: This is an Apple PowerBook? lol

http://cgi.ebay.com/Apple-Powerbook-...QQcmdZViewItem
__________________
I have an iBook G4 with 1.25 GB RAM. I'm cool now.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I shut down an eBay scam! MDLarson Bob's Place 23 May 8th, 2005 12:26 PM
Help me shut down this scam please MDLarson Bob's Place 6 March 6th, 2005 01:10 PM
GMail Scam? MBHockey Bob's Place 6 November 1st, 2004 04:25 PM
Virus Scam? LABachlr Mac OS X System & Mac Software 13 March 14th, 2004 10:35 PM
TiPaint SCAM BBenve Hardware & Peripherals 3 May 26th, 2003 04:19 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:44 PM.


Mac Support® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.1.0
Copyright 2000-2008 DigitalCrowd, Inc.