|
#9
| ||||
| ||||
| That's an interesting way of putting it... it could "affect" anyone, depending on their level of knowledge regarding computers. Give a pro using IE for Windows that link, where it doesn't show the real URL, and he'll be much more likely to figure out what it is than if you give a novice using someting else the link, where it does show the actual domain. But you're right, in the technical aspect it only affects Windows IE browsers while Microsoft keeps not caring.
__________________ System: 2.5 GHz MacBook Pro Core 2 Duo, 4 GB RAM, 200 GB hard drive, runs 10.5.4 1.6 GHz iMac G5, 1.5 GB RAM, 250 GB hard drive, runs 10.4.11 iPhone, 4 GB, OS X 2.0.2 |
|
#10
| ||||
| ||||
| Arden, you took the words right out of my mouth. Symphonix, while the technical aspect of this only affects IE, I can just abuot guarantee you that my grandmother might very well be taken in by this, not knowing anything about URLs. This bug is kind of stupid though, I'm surprised something that affects a user's security so blatantly wasn't fixed overnight with the addition of a message box advising the user it could be a spoofed URL, I mean, jeez...
__________________ michaelsanford.com Blog Twitter Tumblr LinkedIn iBook G4 1.42 GHz | MacOS X 10.5-current | 1 GB RAM, 100 GB HDD iMac G4 TFT 700 MHz | MacOS X 10.4.11 (8S165) | 768 MB RAM, 40 GB HDD AMD Athlon64 3500+ | Slackware 12 (2.6.21.5-smp) | 2 GB RAM, 2120 GB RAID 1, 2500 GB RAID 0 |
|
#11
| ||||
| ||||
| While some of us would be smart enough to take a closer look at the url, there will be some who would not think twice about it and fill out the form. I go the same email and could not remember if I even had a PayPal account, I may have several years ago. I decide to not answer that email and trashed it. This is just as bad as getting an official letter in the snail mail thinking it is from the government only to find out it is junk. ![]()
__________________ Cheryl iMac 17" 800 MHz PowerPC G4 80 GB Ultra ATA WD Firewire 160 GB ----------}--@ cheryl@macosx.com http://homepage.mac.com/ladyfair/PhotoAlbum1.html |
|
#12
| ||||
| ||||
| Exactly, after all, to the untrained eye, the stream of special characters in the URL could be legit.
__________________ michaelsanford.com Blog Twitter Tumblr LinkedIn iBook G4 1.42 GHz | MacOS X 10.5-current | 1 GB RAM, 100 GB HDD iMac G4 TFT 700 MHz | MacOS X 10.4.11 (8S165) | 768 MB RAM, 40 GB HDD AMD Athlon64 3500+ | Slackware 12 (2.6.21.5-smp) | 2 GB RAM, 2120 GB RAID 1, 2500 GB RAID 0 |
|
#13
| |||
| |||
| even i received many fraud paypal emails asking me to confirm confirm money transaction . i noticed that there are similair stories on aboutpaypal.org" you should visit there for more information . |
|
#14
| ||||
| ||||
| Welcome to NIGHT OF THE LIVING THREADS! ![]() Check the date on the posts before yours. I'm sure that the interest in this topic for those posters has waned in the past 3 years. ![]()
__________________ Apple iMac G5 17" (2 GHz G5) - Mac OS X 10.4.11 Apple Macintosh Quadra 650 (33 MHz MC68040) - Mac OS 8.1 Apple PowerBook Duo 230 (33 MHz MC68030) - System 7.1 "JHVH-1" (2 GHz AMD Athlon XP 2400+) - Slackware 12.1 "Kidbuntu" (2.8 GHz Celeron D 335) - Ubuntu 8.04 |