Follow us on...
Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Facebook
Register
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    BlingBling 3k12 is offline Somewhere... dunno though
    Thanks

Advantages & Disadvantages of Partitioning

I am new to partitioning (both Windows and Mac platforms) and from what I've heard, partitioning a Hard Drive seems to be the way to go...

I will have a 60 GB Hard Drive in my new iMac

What will be on there? Music (about 3 gigs), Video (from my DV camcorder), and until I figure out how to network properly, that will probably be about it.

I figured that keeping it all without partitioning would be good... but from what I hear, partitioning speeds up the system.

Now, I don't want to totally f*ck it up the minute I get this (oh you have no idea how pissed my dad would get)... so would it all work fine without partitioning?

Thanks guys!
    Casey (Bling)

.dev.lqd is offline Angry Member
    Thanks
    I always give myself at least two partitions...

one for the operating system and programs and my desktop (where I keep tons of stuff)

The other ends up being a dumping ground

eventually it's cleaned out... but for the most part it's just storage space.

The benefit is that I can completely blow away my OS install without touching the other files. In my current setup I have my pictures folder aliased there, my music folder, fonts, and a few other things. After that it's just TONS of files.

-stephen

dricci is offline Registered User
    Thanks
    I suggest leaving the partitions as is until you get used to Mac OS X. Then possibly in a few months you could start worrying about setting up partitions.

Biff is offline Thinking Different
    Where the Grass is Green and the skies are Blue
    Thanks
    I always partition my drive, one for Mac OS 9, one for Mac OS 10, and one as a storage dumpster. If YOU have more than one OS on the computer you should install each OS on a different partition so you can switch between the two at startup with the option key