image
image

Go Back   macosx.com > Mac Help Forums > Mac OS X System & Mac Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old July 31st, 2005, 09:50 PM
Amie's Avatar
Mac Convert for Life
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,258
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Amie is on a distinguished road
OnyX is NOT Freeware?

OK, I was just doing some research on maintenance utility applications and I was under the impression that OnyX was freeware. It is NOT free. The reviews on SofoTex.com clearly state that OnyX is misleading in the sense that it is categorized as freeware when it is not. What's up with that?...
__________________
I have an iBook G4 with 1.25 GB RAM. I'm cool now.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old July 31st, 2005, 10:00 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 2,568
Thanks: 2
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
MisterMe will become famous soon enough
What in God's name are you carrying on about? You can download and use OnyX free of charge. I did and do. Yet, you are satisfied to read some website that most of us never heard of and get all exercised about what it says. It is better to light a candle than to curse the darkness. You may find candles and matches here.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old July 31st, 2005, 10:41 PM
Tech
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Dover, DE
Posts: 3,871
Thanks: 0
Thanked 28 Times in 28 Posts
DeltaMac will become famous soon enough
In doing research, it's always good to check your sources - http://macapple.free.fr/titanium/english.html
__________________
Serendipity is a lucky guess !
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old July 31st, 2005, 10:44 PM
ElDiabloConCaca's Avatar
U.S.D.A. Prime
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 10,380
Thanks: 3
Thanked 124 Times in 113 Posts
ElDiabloConCaca is a jewel in the roughElDiabloConCaca is a jewel in the roughElDiabloConCaca is a jewel in the rough
Amie, I think what you read was posted by someone other than the webmaster, and is probably incorrect.

It looks to be about as free as it can get.
__________________
Power Macintosh G4/500MHz "Yikes!" 10.4.11 Server • 1024MB • 3 x 120GB + 320GB • DVR-111D • 2 x Radeon 7000 PCI • 2 x 17" CRT
MacBook 2.0GHz Core 2 Duo - White 10.5.5 • 2048MB • 80GB • CD-RW/DVD-ROM
iPod Photo 60GB • iPod nano 1GB • AT&T DSL 6Mb/768k
http://www.jeffhoppe.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old July 31st, 2005, 10:52 PM
MacTechie17
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 121
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
slooksterpsv is on a distinguished road
Yup, its free - still is too :P YAY For OnyX =D you'll love the app.
__________________

TechRestore - Best used Mac Laptop site ever


Ahhh only being 17 and knowing Mac's better than my family
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old August 1st, 2005, 12:08 AM
Person that uses a Mac
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Berea, Ohio
Posts: 402
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
btoth is on a distinguished road
SofoTex is a crappy site and so far I think that whoever runs the site just copies MacUpdate.

Whenever I submit one of my products to MacUpdate, I get an email the same day from SofoTex saying some crap like "Your product has been approved" or "Thank you for submitting your product to SofoTex". Three times now I've told them that I didn't give them permission and that it's in violation of my license agreements to distribute without my permission. But they ignore me. The best part is when they tell me that their reviewers have given my product such-and-such a rating... I doubt they ever used them.

Normally, I don't mind when people post links to my software or website on their sites, it actually means a lot to me if they find my stuff worth writing about, but it looks to me like SofoTex just in it for the advertising revenues.

I may be wrong, maybe I'd have a different opinion if they answered my emails. =) But, I have read similar complaints about them from other developers.


*** Edit ***

Actually, I double-checked their site... and I don't see any ads. Odd. But their emails still annoy me.
__________________
Mac Software by Me - ImageReel, Google Maps Address Book Plugin.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old August 2nd, 2005, 10:09 AM
Amie's Avatar
Mac Convert for Life
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,258
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Amie is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by MisterMe
What in God's name are you carrying on about? You can download and use OnyX free of charge. I did and do. Yet, you are satisfied to read some website that most of us never heard of and get all exercised about what it says. It is better to light a candle than to curse the darkness. You may find candles and matches here.
LOL!

Thank you, for both the information and the laugh. I don't know if you intended for your post to be funny, but it really struck my funny bone for some reason. Maybe it was the way you worded it, ah dunno. Anyway, thanks.
__________________
I have an iBook G4 with 1.25 GB RAM. I'm cool now.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old August 2nd, 2005, 10:11 AM
Amie's Avatar
Mac Convert for Life
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,258
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Amie is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by btoth
SofoTex is a crappy site and so far I think that whoever runs the site just copies MacUpdate.

Whenever I submit one of my products to MacUpdate, I get an email the same day from SofoTex saying some crap like "Your product has been approved" or "Thank you for submitting your product to SofoTex". Three times now I've told them that I didn't give them permission and that it's in violation of my license agreements to distribute without my permission. But they ignore me. The best part is when they tell me that their reviewers have given my product such-and-such a rating... I doubt they ever used them.

Normally, I don't mind when people post links to my software or website on their sites, it actually means a lot to me if they find my stuff worth writing about, but it looks to me like SofoTex just in it for the advertising revenues.

I may be wrong, maybe I'd have a different opinion if they answered my emails. =) But, I have read similar complaints about them from other developers.


*** Edit ***

Actually, I double-checked their site... and I don't see any ads. Odd. But their emails still annoy me.
Sue da bastids!
__________________
I have an iBook G4 with 1.25 GB RAM. I'm cool now.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:35 AM.


Mac Support® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.1.0
Copyright 2000-2008 DigitalCrowd, Inc.