image
image

Go Back   macosx.com > Mac Help Forums > Mac OS X System & Mac Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old May 4th, 2007, 03:52 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 172
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Imagine is on a distinguished road
Is this legal?

I keep getting these email from companies such as http://www.soft-on.com where one can buy software for 80% off list price.

Adobe Creative Suite 2

Retail: $1199.
Sale: $149

...and so on.

Is this legal?

-Dean
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old May 4th, 2007, 03:57 PM
bobw's Avatar
The Late: SuperMacMod
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Phila,PA
Posts: 8,835
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 1 Post
bobw has a spectacular aura aboutbobw has a spectacular aura about
We offer the software for downloading only, it means that you do not receive a fancy package, a printed manual and license that actually aggregate the largest part of the retail price. In this situation we are restricted in selling the products for private purposes only!

Sure looks like it's illegal.

Plus they don't have Mac software.
We do not have Mac-software available at the moment however we plan to extend our product range, so please check the product list and the News section on your accounts periodically!
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old May 4th, 2007, 04:04 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 172
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Imagine is on a distinguished road
Well after carefully looking the their web-site, they do offer Mac related programs.

http://www.soft-on.com/-software-for-mac-.php

No license!!! Sure doesn't sound right to me either.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old May 4th, 2007, 04:12 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 89
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Debaser626 is on a distinguished road
Actually, their FAQ is woefully outdated. They now have a mac section.

Bobw: "2.4. You do not receive printed license documentation" According to their instructions: "4.2. Instructions, Serial numbers and additional information may be stored in TXT and other file types. "

This leads me to believe that if this isn't just a total scam, you will receive a serial number. They state you must burn your download to disc if you ever want to reinstall.

That said, since it seems to good to be true, I'd either think this was a fishing scheme designed to get your CC info, or it's a shady off shore company using pirated licenses. Either way, I certainly would never buy anything or recommend that anyone else buy anything from them.

Case in point:

Adobe CS 2
Retail Price $1199.00
Our Price $149.95
You save $1049.0

Yeah... OK... I'm sure Adobe would just let someone gyp them out of $1000+ dollars. Not to mention that since you have to register CS 2 on the internet before you can use it. This means they're either using the cracked CS2 code or someone's enterprise site license. (if you try to enter a SN that's already been registered it won't let you install it with the Personal Adobe CS 2 Suite)
__________________
Apple Certified Portable Technician

Last edited by Debaser626; May 4th, 2007 at 04:19 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old May 4th, 2007, 08:22 PM
loyaltubist's Avatar
Macintosh Ambassador
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam (Saigon)
Posts: 28
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
loyaltubist is on a distinguished road
Does someone have 150 bucks, burning a hole in their pocket?

http://www.soft-on.com/2310.php
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old May 4th, 2007, 09:53 PM
one1step1's Avatar
Podcaster of Mac Tips
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Blacksburg, VA
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
one1step1 is on a distinguished road
If it's too good to be true... it is. Short of Academic & Government pricing, I don't know of any legal huge 'discounts' that are significant.

Try over http://www.academicsuperstore.com/ they have legit software, and the rules to qualify are loose if you have anyone in an education institution.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old May 4th, 2007, 10:52 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 142
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Timotheos is on a distinguished road
..And what the hell?

Quote:
Originally Posted by bobw View Post
We offer the software for downloading only, it means that you do not receive a fancy package, a printed manual and license that actually aggregate the largest part of the retail price.
The printed packaging etc costs a grand? come on, if that was true everything would cost atleast $1000.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old May 4th, 2007, 11:52 PM
icemanjc's Avatar
I'm Cool, I have a Mac.
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 732
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
icemanjc is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by one1step1 View Post
If it's too good to be true... it is. Short of Academic & Government pricing, I don't know of any legal huge 'discounts' that are significant.

Try over http://www.academicsuperstore.com/ they have legit software, and the rules to qualify are loose if you have anyone in an education institution.
I was just going to mention that, I have used that before and it is actually really good and reliable, also its very scheap for legit stuff.
__________________

MacBook 2.0 GHz , 120 GB, 2 GB, OS 10.5.5
(someone stepped on my MacBook and crushed 250 GB HD :[ .)
PowerMac G5 Dual 2.3 GHz, 750 GB, 1 GB, OS 10.5.5 Server
iPod Classic Black 120 GB
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:57 AM.


Mac Support® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.1.0
Copyright 2000-2008 DigitalCrowd, Inc.