image
image

|


Go Back   macosx.com > Site Forums > Site Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old April 8th, 2006, 01:50 PM
gollum84's Avatar
Tech
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Studio City : CA
Posts: 190
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
gollum84 is on a distinguished road
Spoof email from DigitalCrowd?

I just got this email today about my email address expiring, but I renewed it back on March 14 and I still have the receipt from Paypal. Here is what the message said:

Hi Matthew,

Your account with Digital Crowd, gollum84.macosx.com, has expired. Please let me know if you would like to renew your account at a 20% discounted rate.

Best Regards,
Ronny Fang
AcuNett - Management Team
http://www.acunett.com/


Is this thing for real or should I just ignore it? It seems a little fishy to me.
__________________
My Website
Leoville Forum Referral
PowerMac G4 1Ghz FW800
OSX 10.4.8 : 2GB RAM : 60GB + 80GB + 250GB + 300GB FW800 : DVR-110D : Radeon 9600 Pro 256MB : 17" Apple Studio Display LCD : Graphire3 6x8 : iPod Video 30GB Black : iPod Shuffle 512MB
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old April 8th, 2006, 01:52 PM
bobw's Avatar
The Late: SuperMacMod
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Phila,PA
Posts: 8,835
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
bobw has a spectacular aura aboutbobw has a spectacular aura about
http://www.macosx.com/forums/showthr...hlight=AcuNett
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old April 8th, 2006, 02:17 PM
gollum84's Avatar
Tech
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Studio City : CA
Posts: 190
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
gollum84 is on a distinguished road
So my current expiry date is April 16th, 2007. Does this mean my @macosx.com account will be active until then and then I have the choice to let it run out or renew again, but this time with AcuNett? If I renew will my new address be something like gollum84@acunett.com?
__________________
My Website
Leoville Forum Referral
PowerMac G4 1Ghz FW800
OSX 10.4.8 : 2GB RAM : 60GB + 80GB + 250GB + 300GB FW800 : DVR-110D : Radeon 9600 Pro 256MB : 17" Apple Studio Display LCD : Graphire3 6x8 : iPod Video 30GB Black : iPod Shuffle 512MB
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old April 9th, 2006, 08:27 AM
bobw's Avatar
The Late: SuperMacMod
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Phila,PA
Posts: 8,835
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
bobw has a spectacular aura aboutbobw has a spectacular aura about
When you renew, your address will remain the same, I believe. Scott will need to confirm this.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old April 9th, 2006, 10:54 AM
ScottW's Avatar
Founder
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Overland Park, KS
Posts: 3,164
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 2 Posts
ScottW is on a distinguished road
Hi. We only support email addresses, not web addresses. When we exited the "hosting" business for macosx.com subdomains, we transferred all hosting accounts to AcuNett. You may only use the subdomain, whatever.macosx.com through November 2006, at which time it will be cut off. It would be advisable to obtain a different domain name before that period ends.

Your email address with us is separate and on a different renewal schedule, it is not effected nor managed by Acunett.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Want to spoof your caller id? northmendo.com Bob's Place 0 February 6th, 2005 04:18 PM
Spoof CD Writer? lnoelstorr Mac OS X System & Mac Software 1 July 8th, 2004 04:01 AM
iPod Spoof mfsri Apple News, Rumors & Discussion 11 November 23rd, 2003 07:14 AM
Probably Old, but Another Mac Ad Spoof ScottW Apple News, Rumors & Discussion 9 November 15th, 2003 08:43 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:01 AM.


Mac Support® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.1.0
Copyright 2000-2008 DigitalCrowd, Inc.