AFP on windows

Discussion in 'Mac OS X System & Mac Software' started by BSDimwit, May 1, 2002.

  1. BSDimwit

    BSDimwit Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2002
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Denver
    Is PCmaclan the only appletalk tool for the Windows platform?
     
  2. cockneygeezer

    cockneygeezer Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2001
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Freelance IT/Web Consultant
    Location:
    Norwich
    Dear BSDimWit,

    I would like to help, but you have to provide more information that what you have written.

    The appletalk protocol on Windows? Hmm... I know that this can be done by installing 'Services for Macintosh' which is NOT installed by default on WindowsNT server and Windows 2000 Server. I not to sure on the client side. Use the system installer disk to install these drivers and consult your help files.

    If you are not using server software and you want to connect your Mac to a client PC, I recommend you buy DAVE 3.1, which is an excellent piece of software. This will make your Mace enable to connect to any PC, client or server and use PC printer as well. Cost is around £70 ($100),

    Hope it helps.
     
  3. BSDimwit

    BSDimwit Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2002
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Denver
    Thanks for the response... I didn't even know that NT had a services for Macintosh... knew about UNIX services but never really noticed the mac ones until I bought my powerbook :)

    Thanks again
     
  4. chenly

    chenly Moof!

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2002
    Messages:
    375
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    graduate student
    Location:
    Minneapolis
    Thursby Software, publisher of the now much less useful (thanks to OS X) Dave, offers a sister program for Windows which allows AFP access, among other things.
     
  5. hazmat

    hazmat Rusher of Din

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2001
    Messages:
    1,803
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    UNIX System Administrator
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    cockneygeezer: I don't think that the Services for Mac exist for NT Workstation or 2k Pro. But as was pointed out, for connecting to Windows shares from OS X, you don't need anything. OS X supports SMB, with which I connect to 2k Pro shares on my PC all the time. If you need help with that, let me/us know.
     
  6. chenly

    chenly Moof!

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2002
    Messages:
    375
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    graduate student
    Location:
    Minneapolis
    ...may I trust you're a professional of some sort, hazmat?
     
  7. hazmat

    hazmat Rusher of Din

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2001
    Messages:
    1,803
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    UNIX System Administrator
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    :) Well FWIW I'm a Sun Certified Solaris Sys Admin, but my take on computers and OSs is that every one does at least something better than the others, and vice versa, so I like to have them all. I think to say only one OS is the best and the rest suck is just plain silly, and you make yourself sound absolutely ridiculous and ignorant. Unfortunately I see way too much of that on this forum, but it doesn't surprise me in a one-OS-biased site. :)
     
  8. yokemay

    yokemay Registered

    Joined:
    May 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Webmaster
    Location:
    Bangkok, Thailand
    From Hazmat: But as was pointed out, for connecting to Windows shares from OS X, you don't need anything. OS X supports SMB, with which I connect to 2k Pro shares on my PC all the time. If you need help with that, let me/us know

    Will you please give me the details on how to connect my W2K Pro with the Mac OS X Server?

    Thanks in advance!
     
  9. hazmat

    hazmat Rusher of Din

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2001
    Messages:
    1,803
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    UNIX System Administrator
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    In the Finder, go to Go -> Connect to Server, and type:

    smb://server_name/share_name

    where 'server_name' is the name of the Windows machine you are connecting to, and share_name is the name of the shared directory.
     
  10. PhilH

    PhilH Registered

    Joined:
    May 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    Yes, this works fine with me. Just be careful that your share_name doesn't actually contain an underscore. My share name was d_drive and it just wouldn't connect unless I removed the '_'.

    It's a shame that, using this method, you can't connect to the Windows server automatically on startup.
     
  11. chenly

    chenly Moof!

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2002
    Messages:
    375
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    graduate student
    Location:
    Minneapolis
    AppleScript should take care of that.
     

Share This Page