Autofill not working on email

Discussion in 'Mac OS X System & Mac Software' started by birdnz, Mar 17, 2009.

  1. birdnz

    birdnz
    uix_expand uix_collapse
    Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    When I type in an address (In yahoo email) on my Mac, it never autofills the address even though i have sent to that email address before and also received from it.
     
  2. edadams

    edadams
    uix_expand uix_collapse
    Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2005
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi

    Do you mean the Yahoo Xtra webmail interface? If yes then i have just tested mine and I think that the emails need to be in your contacts before it auto fill works, if you dont auto add to contacts then it wont remember the email address you sent.

    Ed
     
  3. birdnz

    birdnz
    uix_expand uix_collapse
    Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    It is just yahoo mail. I have all my contacts in yahoo mail but not in my address book in my Mac. It used to work fine on my PC completing email address details, but not since I've switched to Mac.

    Thanks
     
  4. edadams

    edadams
    uix_expand uix_collapse
    Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2005
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ok, so are you using the browser yahoo mail client or one on your mac?
     
  5. birdnz

    birdnz
    uix_expand uix_collapse
    Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I;m not sure if I understand the question , but I do use Yahoo and not Mac for all of my emailing.
     
  6. edadams

    edadams
    uix_expand uix_collapse
    Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2005
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    1
    Sorry, are you using safari or firefox browsers to login to yahoo mail or are you using the built in Apple mail client or the MS Entourage one.
    Ed
     
  7. birdnz

    birdnz
    uix_expand uix_collapse
    Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm using Safari,

    Thx
     
  8. edadams

    edadams
    uix_expand uix_collapse
    Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2005
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ok, so if you start typing a name that is resident in your contacts does it show up?
    Can you try that with a known contact?
    Ed
     
  9. birdnz

    birdnz
    uix_expand uix_collapse
    Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's the problem. It doesn't autofill anything when I start typing an address , even if it is in my yahoo mail contacts and I have received and sent to that address before.

    thx
     
  10. birdnz

    birdnz
    uix_expand uix_collapse
    Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    No the names even if in contacts don't fill in on yahoo mail when I start filling in the address.

    thx
     

Share This Page