Disable Remote Desktop

Discussion in 'Mac OS X System & Mac Software' started by cybiko123, Feb 28, 2004.

  1. cybiko123

    cybiko123 Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2003
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is there a way to disable Apple Remote Desktop in OSX?
     
  2. Captain Code

    Captain Code Moderator Staff Member Mod

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2001
    Messages:
    3,113
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Software Engineering Student
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    In Panther:
    Open System Preferences and click the Sharing panel. Uncheck Apple Remote Desktop.

    Don't know about Jaguar because I can't remember if there is a setting or not.
     
  3. cybiko123

    cybiko123 Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2003
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Unfortunately, I am not the admin, so I do not have access to the sharing pane.
     
  4. Captain Code

    Captain Code Moderator Staff Member Mod

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2001
    Messages:
    3,113
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Software Engineering Student
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Sorry, then no. If you are a limited user you won't be able to even kill it from the Terminal without the admin password.
     
  5. cybiko123

    cybiko123 Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2003
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Then how do I get the admin password?
     
  6. fbp_

    fbp_ captain obvious

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    you dont, thats the whole idea.

    osx is secure
     
  7. ElDiabloConCaca

    ElDiabloConCaca U.S.D.A. Prime

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2001
    Messages:
    14,523
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    CTO
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    You ask the administrator of the machine for his/her password.
     
  8. cybiko123

    cybiko123 Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2003
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Seriously, how do I get it?
     
  9. ElDiabloConCaca

    ElDiabloConCaca U.S.D.A. Prime

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2001
    Messages:
    14,523
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    CTO
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    That's serious -- you ask the admin of the computer for their password. If you're not an admin user, then you need to find an admin user and explain to him what you want to do.

    I'm assuming this isn't your home computer -- perhaps a computer at school or work, right? If so, then the reason you don't have admin privileges is so you can't do exactly what you're trying to do.

    If this IS your home computer, then that's some strange setup you've got there.
     
  10. Giaguara

    Giaguara Chmod 760 Staff Member Mod

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2002
    Messages:
    9,521
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ask the administrator for the password. OR to disable the remote.

    It is possible to reset the password without it, but it is not ethical. Whose computer is it that you are using? At home, in school etc?
     

Share This Page