Help my CPU is running at 95%

Discussion in 'Mac OS X System & Mac Software' started by dburg, Jul 3, 2006.

  1. dburg

    dburg Registered

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi
    I have a G4 Powerbook running 10.3.9 and the machine runs ever when it is sleeping. The activity monitor show that my CPU (the finder value) is at 95%!!!
    I have tried
    Diskwarrior
    reinstalling OX 10.3.9
    and Nortan antivirus
    has anyone got a suggestion?
    diana
     
  2. sinclair_tm

    sinclair_tm wow, 1.4g is way faster!

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,005
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dusty Mexican Border Lands
    open your activity monitor in the utilities folder and see what the name of the process that is using the cpu the most. let us know, and that will tell us how to proceed.
     
  3. dburg

    dburg Registered

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    the finder is running at anywhere from 55% to 95%
    thanks
    diana
     
  4. camgangrel21

    camgangrel21 Mac Programer

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2006
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Alvord, Texas, USA
    do you have any menu items in the Finder's menu that is not part of the OS one that come when you first set up the mac. I know that I have MenuMeters runing on my G3 PowerBook runing 10.4.7 and ir runs at right about 5 to as much as 50%. Now what you might try is runing Cocktail. Because ever so often my CPU loads hit as high as 8.8 load. When it hits this high I just kick in Cocktail in and then have it run and then reset my system when back up loads back to below 1. hope that helps.
     
  5. barhar

    barhar Registered

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Messages:
    1,340
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Only Apple provides 'Finder's menus; the menus listed along the right side of the menu bar (whether 'Finder' is the front most process or not) are not 'Finder' specific, and are managed by 'SystemUIServer'.

    'I just kick in Cocktail in and then have it run and then reset my system' - 'Cocktail' has nothing to do with 'SystemUIServer's handling of Apple's and third party's (right side) menu bar menus.

    However, using 'Cocktail' to clear 'System' and 'User' caches, and deleting all rotated log files - via the utility's 'Files' toolbar menu item button icon; and then manually trashing any large '.log' and other files in the '/Library/Logs/' and '~/Library/logs/' folder's sub-folders - before rebooting (restarting) the Mac, may be a possible solution.

    ---

    My condolences on your installation and use of 'Norton Anti-virus'.
     
  6. lbj

    lbj Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm on an iMac G5 running 10.3.9. The culprit on my machine is some root process called "lookupd".

    You can launch Activity Monitor to confirm, then quit the process from within Activity Monitor. Saves from rebooting the system.
     
  7. carman

    carman Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2005
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    open terminal
    run : top -o cpu

    this will show cpu intensive jobs on top.
     
  8. Satcomer

    Satcomer In Geostationary Orbit

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Messages:
    9,165
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Occupation:
    Looking toward the sky
    Location:
    Finger Lakes Region
    If I remember right (when i had 10.3.9) the bug was fixed in Tiger. The lookupd has to do with logging and such.

    I found a post at Macintouch that seems to fix a similar problem.

     
  9. symphonix

    symphonix Scratch & Sniff Committee

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2001
    Messages:
    4,018
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    IT Support (Healthcare)
    Location:
    The Australian Jungles
    Scary ... I play Soduku on that site.
     
  10. Satcomer

    Satcomer In Geostationary Orbit

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Messages:
    9,165
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Occupation:
    Looking toward the sky
    Location:
    Finger Lakes Region
    I think it has to do with a Java bug, not just that site. The poster should take a hard look at his Java logs and maybe do a Java reinstall.
     

Share This Page