How to Mount a .vmdk on Mac OS X

Discussion in 'Boot Camp & OS Virtualization on Mac' started by #1 Rhapsody, Apr 13, 2009.

  1. #1 Rhapsody

    #1 Rhapsody Mac Guru

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Programming
    How do you mount a vmdk disk image? It is formated HFS+ so Windows can't mount it.
     
  2. ora

    ora Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Messages:
    2,335
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    London
    A quick look at wikipedia shows that VirtualBox (free form Sun) can run it - try that.

    That is assuming you lack VMqware which is the program it was made in I guess.
     
  3. #1 Rhapsody

    #1 Rhapsody Mac Guru

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Programming
    I want to be able to open it and edit certain files.
     
  4. ora

    ora Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Messages:
    2,335
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    London
    Did you actually try my suggestion? vBox can apparently run vmdk images which should let you edit files within them.

    Do you have VMware? That is where this image file seems to have come from so that is the first thing to try.

    I gave you a suggestion based on about 0.5 seconds of google/wikipedia work (not exactly hard) and your reply suggests you didn't even try my suggestions. You didn;t actually provide any particularly useful info either so I can;t really give you any more help than I already have. I would recommend you read this especially this bit.
     
  5. #1 Rhapsody

    #1 Rhapsody Mac Guru

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Programming
    Sorry :(

    I have to run a Mac program on the drive so I can do what I want, so that is why I can't use Virtualbox (Unless it can mount disk images in the host system).
     
  6. ora

    ora Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Messages:
    2,335
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    London
    If you have VMware fusion it includes a vmdk mounter, just right click and hit open with...>VMDK mounter. Else there is a downloadable windows mounter at http://www.vmxbuilder.com/vmware-diskmount-gui/ - can't see a method to mount it under OS X other than the tool that seems to come with Fusion.
     
  7. #1 Rhapsody

    #1 Rhapsody Mac Guru

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Programming
    Thanks

    I guess I'll have to find another way.
     
  8. jambo28

    jambo28 Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi there, i'm really struggling to mount this on my mac after unzipping on a pc any idea?
     
  9. Giaguara

    Giaguara Chmod 760 Staff Member Mod

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2002
    Messages:
    9,522
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Use VMware Fusion if you need it on a Mac, jambo28.
    Create a VM of the OS and specifics that you know of that VMDK - so e.g. Windows XP if that is what the vmdk disk is for. The OS for the new VM needs to be of the same OS as the OS on that vmdk file (or as close to it as possible).
    After it's been created, point the VM to the vmdk for it's HD.
    If it's set for a wrong OS, e.g. Linux when the vmdk contains the hd for XP it won't be able to work with it.
     
  10. Christian.Merca

    Christian.Merca Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Once you have installed virtualbox, you have command line tools that come with it to allow virtual drives file formats translation:
    $ VBoxManage internalcommands converthd [-srcformat VDI|VMDK|VHD|RAW]
    [-dstformat VDI|VMDK|VHD|RAW]
    <inputfile> <outputfile>
    converts hard disk images between formats

    Hope it helps. Ch.M.
     
  11. obama6493

    obama6493 Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks

    I guess I'll have to find another way.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 16, 2011
  12. Giaguara

    Giaguara Chmod 760 Staff Member Mod

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2002
    Messages:
    9,522
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    38
    obama6493, if you are actually in this thread for finding a solution to the technical problem #1 Rhapsody asked help for two years ago, there are plenty of other methods described between the first post and your post in this thread. So perhaps you can find some other ways by just reading this page.
     

Share This Page