How to set up Software Update Server with local network?

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Server' started by iSMTBE, Nov 29, 2009.

  1. iSMTBE

    iSMTBE Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hello,
    I first use MAc OS Server 10.6.2, I just want to set up "Software Update Server" with local network.
    I mean that manual download software file for client to install. But I have no idea how to set up. Anything I find out is use internet for "Software Update Server".
    Or someone have ways to resolve this problem or via proxy to figure out.
     
  2. Satcomer

    Satcomer In Geostationary Orbit

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Messages:
    9,140
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Occupation:
    Looking toward the sky
    Location:
    Finger Lakes Region
  3. iSMTBE

    iSMTBE Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    which part?
     
  4. ElDiabloConCaca

    ElDiabloConCaca U.S.D.A. Prime

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2001
    Messages:
    14,523
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Occupation:
    Director of IT
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    Which part of setting it up are you having trouble with? Have you turned on the "Software Update" service in Mac OS X Server? Have you configured the clients to connect to your server for updates? Here's how:

    http://krypted.com/mac-os-x/mac-os-x-setting-a-software-update-server-without-open-directory/

    Tons more information and walk-throughs available with a super-simple Google search, such as:

    http://www.macgasm.net/2009/09/27/mac-os-x-10-6-snow-leopard-feature-software-update-server/

    Please tell us at exactly which point in the setup process you're having trouble with.
     
  5. Satcomer

    Satcomer In Geostationary Orbit

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Messages:
    9,140
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Occupation:
    Looking toward the sky
    Location:
    Finger Lakes Region
    Are you kidding me? :rolleyes: What part of the process haven't you setup?
     
  6. iSMTBE

    iSMTBE Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sorry, I'll try again.
     
  7. Algernon

    Algernon Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2001
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    I keep the computers running at the Kansas City Ar
    Location:
    KCMO
    Another option that is very useful if you manage a lot of Macs, including laptops, is to create a transparent local software update server, as explained at Mac OSX Hints.

    We've had one running for some time and it save gobs of bandwidth and time. We don't have to touch anyone's computer to make them update from our servers - as long as they are on our network, they download from us. Even those who have their own laptops (tons of students). It takes some time to set up, but it's very worth it.
     
  8. iSMTBE

    iSMTBE Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Because my Mac server behind a authenticated proxy.
    When I turned on the "Software Update" service, show me error information.
    <Info>: ========== Sync Started ==========
    <Error>: Unable to retrieve catalog(s) from the Apple server
    <Info>: Sync Complete

    The solution from apple can't help me. http://support.apple.com/kb/TS3099

    Now I want to download the update packages manually, and copy to folder on server.
    How to do?

    Thanks!!
     
  9. iSMTBE

    iSMTBE Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I want to know whether my server behind a authenticated proxy, I can't run the SUS function.

    Thanks for your kidding.
     
  10. Satcomer

    Satcomer In Geostationary Orbit

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Messages:
    9,140
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Occupation:
    Looking toward the sky
    Location:
    Finger Lakes Region
    Well in your server did you go into your Network settings and make sure it knows of the proxy it connects to?
     
  11. iSMTBE

    iSMTBE Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah, I have done the Network setting in System Preferences.
    complete Proxies of Ethernet setting:
    Web Proxy(HTTP)
    Secure Web Proxy(HTTPS)
    FTP Proxy(HTTP)

    I can browse the Internet. But My SUS can't retrieve catalog(s) from the Apple server.

    Thanks!!
     
  12. ab_a65

    ab_a65 Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I hop this post is not dead! i have the same problem.

    Sun Dec 20 17:26:26 approkabul.com swupd_syncd[1370] <Info>: ========== Sync Started ==========
    Sun Dec 20 17:26:26 approkabul.com swupd_syncd[1370] <Error>: Unable to retrieve catalog(s) from the Apple server
    Sun Dec 20 17:26:26 approkabul.com swupd_syncd[1370] <Info>: Sync Complete
    Sun Dec 20 17:31:29 approkabul.com swupd_syncd[1605] <Info>:
    Sun Dec 20 17:31:29 approkabul.com swupd_syncd[1605] <Info>: ========== Sync Started ==========
    Sun Dec 20 17:56:00 approkabul.com swupd_syncd[1605] <Error>: Unable to retrieve one or more of the catalogs listed in the index
    Sun Dec 20 17:56:00 approkabul.com swupd_syncd[1605] <Error>: Unable to retrieve catalog(s) from the Apple server
    Sun Dec 20 17:56:00 approkabul.com swupd_syncd[1605] <Info>: Sync Complete

    this is what i get when i sync SUS.
    i followed the instruction given by apple it self. and i dont have any idea what i did. can any body tell me a better solution to setup a transparent local update server
     

Share This Page