Mac Intel font problems

Discussion in 'Mac OS X System & Mac Software' started by rhondajam, Sep 5, 2006.

  1. rhondajam

    rhondajam
    uix_expand uix_collapse
    Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is anyone else having a problem with fonts that previously worked fine in OS X on an iMac, but just don't work on the Mac Intel Dual Core mac.
    I have tried using Linotype Font Xplorer X instead of the font book, but still no joy.
    I have a full cd of Linotype fonts that I just can't get to work.
    Does anyone have any ideas?
     
  2. fryke

    fryke
    uix_expand uix_collapse
    Moderator
    Staff Member Mod

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2000
    Messages:
    14,303
    Likes Received:
    10
    What's the "Mac Intel Dual Core mac"? ;) ... Are you referring to the iMac Core Duo? Either way: No, I haven't had any font-related problems when transferring my fonts from my PowerBook G4 to my intel-based MacBook.

    What happens when you want to activate one of the fonts?
     
  3. MisterMe

    MisterMe
    uix_expand uix_collapse
    Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Messages:
    4,047
    Likes Received:
    3
    If your fonts are properly installed in a valid Fonts folder, make sure that their permissions are set to allow your account to access them.
     
  4. rhondajam

    rhondajam
    uix_expand uix_collapse
    Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, it's the iMac Core Duo. Sorry. When I add the font, it just says font unavailable. When I type in any of the creative suite packages or Quark 6.5, it lets me select the font but displays as though the screen font is missing, even though it is there.
    The fonts are installed correctly, and I've checked the permissions, which are fine.
     
  5. bmadden

    bmadden
    uix_expand uix_collapse
    Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am having this same problem, but using Font Agent Pro to activate my fonts. Is there any sort of solution?
     
  6. Natobasso

    Natobasso
    uix_expand uix_collapse
    Tech-Bot 5000

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    3,370
    Likes Received:
    1
    Open FontBook and disable all fonts it's trying to manage.

    In FE go to Tools/Clean System Fonts folder and it will leave only the defaults required by the system in there, the rest are moved to the hard drive main directory. Put all your user fonts with these moved fonts and Add to Library in FE to get them all in FE.

    Repair permissions, might be the easy fix: apps/utilities/disk utility/repair permissions

    Should work fine, though there are reports of other user's older fonts not working on Intel Macs (source www.creativebits.org)
     
    #6 Natobasso, Mar 20, 2008
    Last edited: Mar 20, 2008

Share This Page