"No manual entry for <command>"

Discussion in 'Unix & X11' started by mickey79, Jul 24, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mickey79

    mickey79 True Defiance

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    4th Floor, Above Glory, Beneath Deviance.
    Ave,

    My man pages seem to have vanished!! No matter what I try to man, i get nothing but:

    "No manual entry for <command>"

    I have MacPorts installed, so i did "sudo port install man" to install latest man pages, which it did ... but it didn't make any difference. I can't get man to pull up anything!!

    Any suggestions?
     
  2. Giaguara

    Giaguara Chmod 760 Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2002
    Messages:
    9,491
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ~
    Hmm... would 'apropos man' give anything for you?
     
  3. artov

    artov Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2005
    Messages:
    366
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Check what manpath program shows. For me, it shows

    /sw/share/man:/usr/share/man:/usr/X11R6/man:/opt/local/man

    Check the directories listed. Also, you might like to run Disk Utility's "Verify Disk Permissions".
     
  4. mickey79

    mickey79 True Defiance

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    4th Floor, Above Glory, Beneath Deviance.
    @ Giaguara:
    "apropos man" first prints "WARNING: terminal is not fully functional" and then a whole bunch of different commands. Lots & lots of them.

    @ artov:
    manpath prints "/opt/local/man:/usr/share/man:/usr/local/man:/usr/local/share/man:/opt/local/share/man"
    Already did "Verify Disk Permissions", didn't help.

    I've checked lots of directories - including the ones that manpath prints. I find directories called "man" in all these directories - with further subdirectories in them. However, "man <command>" for example "man ls" still gives the same - "No manual entry for <command>".

    :(
     
  5. Giaguara

    Giaguara Chmod 760 Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2002
    Messages:
    9,491
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    ~
    Hm. I get for manpath /sw/share/man:/usr/share/man:/usr/local/share/man:/usr/X11R6/man
    Any idea why yours links to /opt/ ?
     
  6. artov

    artov Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2005
    Messages:
    366
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The command man actually executes a pipe of commands. If I set the environment variable PAGER to some funny value, I get the pipe printed:

    % PAGER=foo man ls
    sh: line 1: foo: command not found
    man: No such file or directory
    Failed to open the message catalog man on the path NLSPATH=<none>

    Error executing formatting or display command.
    System command (cd /usr/share/man && /usr/bin/tbl /usr/share/man/man1/ls.1 | /usr/bin/groff -Wall -mtty-char -Tascii -mandoc -c | foo) exited with status 32512.
    No manual entry for ls


    The commands in the pipe are:

    - tbl: converts tables in manual pages to Troff commands
    - groff: converts Troff text to ascii text
    - foo: value of the PAGER environment value

    The PAGER environment variable contains name of the command that shows text files. I guess it is normally "less" or "more". Since you said that you get
    , it might be that your current viewer is not functional.

    So you see: one command in the pipe failed, but the error message said that the man page was not found.
     
  7. mickey79

    mickey79 True Defiance

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    4th Floor, Above Glory, Beneath Deviance.
    Although that got a little confusion, It did begin to make sense after a few concentrated reads. You might be on the right direction - only Question is - how to fix it?

    Is there anyway to reinstall "Terminal" app in itself? Or perhaps reinstall "man" with all it's dependencies?

    Not sure.

     
  8. artov

    artov Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2005
    Messages:
    366
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I use iTerm instead of Terminal; mainly because it is semi transparent and has multi-tabs. It claims to be full VT100 emulator, so you might like to check it. If you still get the terminal error messages, then check the PAGER (and VISUAL) enviroment variables. After that, you should check man program (but I do not know how to reinstall it, sorry).
     
  9. mickey79

    mickey79 True Defiance

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    4th Floor, Above Glory, Beneath Deviance.
    I'm looking into iTerm as we speak!
    Where can I check the PAGER & VISUAL env var's?

    Thanks!!

     
  10. mickey79

    mickey79 True Defiance

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    4th Floor, Above Glory, Beneath Deviance.
    Ave,

    After trying everything suggested here and everything I could find on Google - and with nothing helping - And the fact that I was having another simultaneous problem with Macromedia Studio MX 2004 not working - I finally gave in!

    Reinstalled Operating System altogether. Chose the "Archive & Install" option from the Mac OS X Panther 10.3 Disc. After installation completed, ran all updates and got 10.3.9.

    Finally! It works! Man pages are working normal.

    Thanks everyone who contributed.
     
  11. sr105

    sr105 Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    SOLVED (for me):

    I couldn't get the man pages for 7za to load from manually installing p7zip. It turns out that "man" is picky about permissions. I changed the permissions on my man file from 600 to 644 like the others in /usr/share/man/man1 and the page was found.

    I'm including this phrase to help this pop-up higher in google: "No manual entry for 7za"
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page