reset mouse settings?

Discussion in 'Mac OS X System & Mac Software' started by boi, Sep 28, 2003.

  1. boi

    boi official breaker of macs.

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2001
    Messages:
    933
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    any idea on how to reset the mouse settings? i installed the intellimouse drivers and it screwed some stuff up, now i want to go back =).

    thanks.
     
  2. Arden

    Arden Where mah "any" keys at?

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2002
    Messages:
    7,754
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Safeway clerk
    Location:
    Spokane, WA
    I might have an idea, if you provide more details of what you're doing and what's wrong.
     
  3. boi

    boi official breaker of macs.

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2001
    Messages:
    933
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i removed the intellimouse software, but all the settings stuck. the middle button will always bring up the alt-tab menu no matter what. the 4th and 5th buttons do nothing no matter what. i want to set these to exposé or something. even if i set them to exposé in the system preferences it still won't register.
    any ideas?
     
  4. ElDiabloConCaca

    ElDiabloConCaca U.S.D.A. Prime

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2001
    Messages:
    14,522
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Occupation:
    Director of IT
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    I have version 5.0 of the IntelliPoint software installed, and doing a simple search for "intellipoint" brings up an uninstaller located in the Utilities folder. It's named "IntelliPoint Uninstaller."

    I'll bet that'd do the trick, and would probably require a restart -- have you restarted yet?
     
  5. boi

    boi official breaker of macs.

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2001
    Messages:
    933
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    well what do you know, that did it.
    i searched for mouse and microsoft but not intellipoint =)
     
  6. Arden

    Arden Where mah "any" keys at?

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2002
    Messages:
    7,754
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Safeway clerk
    Location:
    Spokane, WA
    I'd use USB Overdrive, in any case.
     
  7. ElDiabloConCaca

    ElDiabloConCaca U.S.D.A. Prime

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2001
    Messages:
    14,522
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Occupation:
    Director of IT
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    Microsoft's Intellipoint 5.0 software works pretty well, too, and it's mouse-specific so you can configure settings for specific mice that USB Overdrive can't.

    USB Overdrive *IS* a fine piece of work, however. I'd like to see something along those lines integrated into Panther though!
     

Share This Page