Yikes! Calculator bug?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Untitled

Untitled
I am a computer science student and, well, frankly this bothers me...

Open up Mac OS X's calculator
do: 168740 - 19.95 to get 168720
Now get a normal calculator and find the problem (hint: answer is 168720.05)

If you do this in Mac OS X's calculator's advanced mode, it works out fine.

First off, who used the calculator to do their taxes? :eek:
Second, would someone please explain? It seems to me this could cause some grief.

Going to go check math homework...:p

I get that too. Also, my Calculator is really sloooowwwwww when you type in the numbers. It's really badly coded.

I think Apple's doing result = number1-number2; but not casting it to a double or float. Since the first number is an int, the result gets automatically casted to an int as well, and you loose the decimals.

Very bad coding Apple!!!

While Calc Thingy does exactly what you'd expect :) I must defend what the calculator is trying to do, while agreeing that it's done badly.

It's not a matter of int vs. float. The calculator thinks you only care about 6 or 7 significant digits.

10 / 3 = 3.333333

168740-19.95 = 168720.05 rounded to 168720

The exact figures are displayed properly in the paper tape. As for why it's slow for you, I don't know. But that's why I use Calc Thingy (shameless plug) Your Mileage May Vary.

it used to run slow for me, but for some reason it mysteriously stopped.
i use koala calc.

Sounds like a good project for a Cocoa newbie like me.

It's things like this that make me wonder if Apple is going downhill....