boot to darwin?

mwwhonda

Registered
the machine is a dual G4 500Mhz machine w/ 1GB of ram. it has both os 9 and os x loaded. this machine does not belong to myself, it is a client here at work.

no one here really has any formal apple education or really knows their way around the machines. i am a novice user and am the only person onsite willing to touch the apple machines we have here.

yesterday the user was downloading a file and walked away from the machine (i do not suspect the file to be a virus, it was coming from a reputable source, additionally virus applications are installed on the machine). when the user returned the computer was sitting at a black console like screen. when i was called down the machine was sitting at a blue screen with a turning gear.

i shut the machine down, tryed zapping the pram and making sure the machine was set to boot from the correct partition.

the boot sequence goes like this.

the machine powers up fine and begins the os x boot sequence. it loads the blue screen with the white box and it starts the normal activities as the bar starts to move from left to right. all of a sudden the white box disapears, however the gear continues to turn near the bottom of the screen. the screen then goes black and says "Darwin/BSD etc... (console)"

it asks for a login. if i enter a user and password it then says "Welcome to Darwin!".

what to do from here is beyond me!

PLEASE HELP!

Darwin is the Unix layer that underlies OS X. I'm not sure what's causing you to boot that way though.

Try typing reboot(enter)

IF that doesn't work, try sudo reboot (enter) then enter an admin password. See if it comes up into OS X then.

i have run fsck after booting into single user mode, norton disk utility and disk utility from the cds. norton found numerous errors and so did disk utility but they all seem to be cleared up. i will try the reboot command in conjuction with sudo as the reboot command alone prompted the same behavior.