booting from raid

blue&whiteman

PowerPC Fanatic
I have a wd 120gb 8mb cache and would like to get another. will the built in raid capability in disk utility allow me to create a raid that I can also boot from? obviously I will need an ata 133 pci card as a raid on my logic boards built in ata 33 will be limited.

i'm new to raid so any advice would be great. I simply want to raid 2 identical drives and be able to boot from them. what type raid and other things should I do for max performance and stability?

I don't think Apple's software RAID allows booting. I think SoftRAID does though. Why not buy an ATA-133 RAID pci controller. Not much extra cash last time i checked.

I believe you can, but the GUI doesn't make it obvious - it's sort of undocumented, so make sure you back up anything important on your disk before you do this.

Basically, you can't add a disk to a RAID set without formatting it (in any obvious way - read on), and there is also no obvious way to install OS X to a RAID set.

The trick is, there is a non-obvious way to do this: with the command
diskutil enableRAID mirror /dev/disk(whatever)
you can turn on the flags that say a disk is already part of a RAID set. Fill in the (whatever) part to the appropriate device name.

Then, when you add the disk to the RAID set in Disk Utility, it will detect that it's already a part of a mirrored RAID set, and its partner is missing, and will not format it, but make the second disk you add into a copy.

Note I've not done this myself - I have a couple of disks I mean to turn into a RAID set, but I haven't finished moving all my data off the one yet.

You also need to decide what kind of RAID you want... RAID is a generic term describing multiple-disk setups ("Redundant Array of Independent Devices") that somehow interact. There two most widely-used are mirroring and striping.