PENTIUM based server?!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Maybe it's just me - and I know cost is a big concern - but I would be much more likely to help defray some of the server costs if it was a bare bones Mac server. Frankly, I don't want any of my money going to support the other side.

Really, I'm no fanatic, but it seems that MacOSX should be just that - MAC...

Feel free to beat up on me now....:(

Well, you could send me a "bare-bones" PowerMac G4 at around 800mhz and I will be MORE THAN HAPPY to stick it online.

The fact is, I have been running Linux based servers since 1996 for Internet purposes and frankly... its awesome. I, more than probably anyone, was glad to see Apple using Linux as a foundation. However, many may not agree with me, but I would, at this date, not want a server running OS X in its current state.

Admin

I see your point and I wasn't really coming down on you. I was just letting my Zealot show through (hence the goofy face icon...):D

It would be great in a perfect world to have mac boxes powering this site. But we all know the realities of the situation. It's just sad.

Could you send me the req's needed to power this site? I may be able to pull some strings and work something out without our having to sell our souls... Maybe even distributed computing could be utilized? I gladly donate my idle cpu cycles and bandwidth to this site.

I must say that this is one of the only truly open and free discussions out there without all the ego-feeding moderators out to make themselves feel better at others' expense and idiotically deleting and censoring threads simply because they are too scared or too closed-minded to appreciate others' views.

Bravo Admin and let's see what we can do to make this as "Mac" as possible.