Powermac form factor change

TimR

Registered
Apple is overdue on upraded G5 PowerMacs. Does anyone have any idea (rumours) if they are going to revise the current form factor and what speeds might be??

Just curious is all....I'm due for a new machine soon..

Later
Tim

I REALLY doubt we'd see a chassis change. Im no expert, but from what i can remember the G4 case stayed the same for quite a long time before it got any upgrades. The PowerMac G5 is relatively new. I'm willing to bet it'll be around for a little while longer.

I doubt the form factor will change. There's no reason to change it -- it's still a G5, and the case is great the way it is (not perfect, but still great). If any changes to the case are made, I would bet they'd be subtle... like perhaps dual-optical bays, or changes to the front ports or something.

Really, the G4 tower had significant changes internally during its life. The silhouette did not change, but lots of details on both front and back panels. And various large changes inside to support different drive configurations, different slot layouts, different processor locations, with cooling updates, etc. The MDD model is vastly different from the first PCI G4.

DeltaMac said:
Really, the G4 tower had significant changes internally during its life.

As i understood the question he was asking about the case not the internals. As for the case, I'll second what ElDiablo said, that if there are goign to be changes, they'll likely be optical drives or different ports in the rear. The over all case design is still knew, and its likely it wont change...

But on the otherhand, as DeltaMac said, There could be major components changed. Maybe we'll see liquid cooling on the whole line.

I just find the G5 tower to be quite large....still very cool though. Liquid cooling would be nice, anyone have any long term experience with it though....??

Thanks for the input...

later
Tim

TimR said: