Recording my bass on my iMac TFT

Gwailo

B.A. Economics (Hon)
I was just wondering if anyone has any brilliant suggestions as to how I can best record my bass guitar (and other analogue and digital/MIDI instruments) WITHOUT an external sampler? I'm a student, an unemployed student at that, and I've got lots of Scottish blood... ;)

I know at presant I need:
- An analogue to USB 1.1 converter for my amp (headphone jack).
- A software program to actually take the sound and put it onto my hard disk. (Storm?)

Out of curiosity, do I have to balance the impedence from the headphone jack of my amp to the Analogue/USB interface?

I was considering getting a BOSS GT-6B, and I don't need to balance that output since it's got two, gasp, digital outs (MIDI and Co-ax)! Now, I'd have to save up quite a bit for that one ;)

Thanks!:p

Oh, why does Apple make such a simple thing that complex :mad:
Actually, Macs were much more professional before Steve came back and made all Macs look like toys. Well, Apple designs have beccome better since 1998/1999, but why did they remove a such a vital thing as an analog jack input? And why doesn't Mac OS X have any ways to record sound without a third party application? It's even impossible to play sound from the input through the output on older machines which actually have sound input.
It's simply stupid to base everything on USB. Sound isn't digital, and Apple should accept that.

I know what you mean! Yikes it's annoying.

But the thing is that I really need a multi-track recording application, and most shareware ones I've tried just don't do that.

Amadeus II is good, powerful, but not quite pwoerful enough for me...