AIM help

Ravin

Registered
Hey... I am pretty new to Mac...

i need some help using AIM...

my buddies try to send me a file (mp3) through AIM's file transfer but it never works! It ALWAYS fails... they always show me some type of message regarding firewalls... i have cable and connect via Airport from the linksys network in my home...

any clue how i have to set up AIM or anything to get it to work? I really wanna share files with them...

thanks for the help!

Just so you know, AIM has a HORRID system for file sharing. A firewall will make it near impossible to connect with people. It may even be the Airport causing the problems. Check to see if either you, or the person sending you the file is firewalled, and if one is, try removing it. Hope it helps :)

Hello Ravin,

If you're using Mac OS 9, there's not much that can be done for you. I think AOL has integrated a system which kills MP3 transfers, anyway. Try to ZIP the file, who knows.

If you're using MacOS X.1, hm... try other clients who support AIM connections, such as Fire or Proteus.

If using MacOS X.2, use iChat, from your menu bar. MP3 transfers work from there, believe me.

I had huge troubles with iChat AND NetBarrier.
But i think the OS (bugs due to factory trouble on the HDD) was in cause.
Now it's fine. :)

Hey... I use 10.2.5

As I said... I have wireless and I think the problem may be that the linksys router has a built in firewall of somesort...

here is the thing though... I downloaded MSN messenger... none of my friends can send me files nor can I send them files....

BUT... my desktop in my room is able to send me MP3's!! However, I still cannot send the desktop anything...

i'll try proteus now because Fire doesnt work for it either :(

anymore ideas?

Ahhhh... now i DL Fire and I can send my desktop files...

but now my desktop cant send the Mac files... it says: