Avery templates for business cards

muchkneaded

Registered
My apologies if this sounds too simple, but I'm so frustrated that I'm about to toss this new G5 in the trash. All I want to do is print my own business cards (BC) onto the same Geographic's "Cloud" cards I've been using for more than 10 years. I've been using Printmaster Gold (PG) but, of course, that's not available for Macs.

The only BC templates I can find in Word (teacher, etc) have only 8 cards per page, but Geo's have 10. When I tried replacing my info with the preprinted info, using the same size fonts I used with PG, my info went WAY beyond the borders. Geo's rep told me I could use either template for Avery 5371 or 8371. When I tried to download these from Design Pro, it showed up on my desktop as an .exe file. I've clicked on every one of the "open with" options. Some options state that it doesn't support that type of file. Other options say it's opening the file, then remains totally blank while a colorful little wheel spins for so long that it's obviously spinning its wheels, but not getting anywhere.

I tried dragging the .exe file into the Applications folder, then opening it from there. Now I'm being told that the file is partially corrupted - not a word I like to see on my new computer. I finally trashed the .exe file.

I bought this thing because some Mac friends told me Macs are more user friendly. I can't highlight e-mail text, then print only the highlighted part - I have to print the entire page with sidebars, banner ads, etc. I can't find the "center" tool anywhere in the toolbar - I have to eyeball it and assume the text is centered. I can't open files that I think will make life easier. AAAAARRRRRGGGGGHHHH!!!