Best camcorder for Ibook

Apple Novice

Registered
Hi,
I'm looking to buy a camcorder for your usual family events, and I've never used one before, so consider me a point and shooter who'll probably love the auto function. It seems that nothing that's out there is readily compatible with Macs. Any suggestions?
Apple Novice

Hi Apple Novice,

Welcome to Macosx.com :)

You could have a look at iMovie '08 camcorder support if you plan on using it mostly with iMovie etc.

Movie supports most Mini DV tape-based camcorders that use a FireWire cable (also known as IEEE 1394 or i.Link) which support DV (standard definition) or HDV (high definition) formats.

iMovie also supports many tapeless camcorders that record to Flash Memory, Hard Drive (HDD), and DVD media. These random access devices use a USB 2.0 cable and include camcorders that support MPEG-2 (standard definition) and AVCHD (high definition) formats.

There is also a list of what is known to work.
Or Final Cut reference page can be another practical reference, even though that page tends to have more expensive and more professional models, load really slow and hurt the eyes when the display light is not set to maximum.

I have done a lot with video and my Mac and let me tell you, there is nothing more fun on a computer! You can really get reeled into camcorder shopping with all the bells and whistles, but you will never ever need them. Given this, you can get a great camcorder for $500 or less. Besides, all the effects you need or want are in iMovie or FCP if you graduate to that (and if you get more involved in video, you really have to do this to really do all kinds of interesting things). I would still recommend a camcorder that uses mini-DV tapes. Burning right to DVD and mpeg formats isn't going to help you if you want to edit on your computer. A camcorder with mini-DV tapes writes DV files, not compressed mpeg files. By a cheap tape rewinder to save your camera's motor.