Clean install of 9.2.1

corimay

PeanutButter
I picked up an older iMac that has OS8.6 on it. I have 9.2.1 and OSX, but I can't install either unless I have OS9.0. I understand that OSX uses OS9 as well (not sure if it HAS to be 9.0, or any OS9 update). So my question is, how do I perform a clean install of OS9.2.1 (the only OS9 software that I have), so then I can install OSX? Or do you recommend I just do a clean install of OSX and not have any OS9 version installed?

I'm a mac newbie, so excuse my ignorance.

Thanks for everyone's help

We were all a newbie at one time. No question is a stupid one.

You can install OS X on it's own. Make sure you have enought memory installed. And you have OS X programs.
The only reason you would want OS 9 is to use Classic. And that would be for a program that is not yet ported to OS X. Or an oldie but goodie.

I think Racer X pointed out at some point that you need the full Mac OS 9 installer and not just the upgrade. If you only have the Mac OS 9.2.1 update CD the came with the Mac OS X 10.1 upgrade (I believe that was the bundle) then you need not only 9.0 (updated to 9.1) to install 9.2.1, you are going to find that you need 10.0 to upgrade to 10.1 (you'll only find that out when the installer doesn't find 10.0 on your system).

I just hope you didn't pay for the free upgrade bundle that Apple handed out at Apple Stores and CompUSA locations. :( If your CDs have update or upgrade on them, then you still need to get Mac OS X and Mac OS 9.

Thanks Cheryl for the info. I get a better understanding of how OSx and OS9 work now.

Is there a tutorial on how to perform a clean install of OSx? The OSx software that I have only tries to upgrade 9.2, so I'm not sure how to reformat the computer. Thanks