Ex-Windows user: Need to replace Cygwin

rnavarre

Registered
I am ex-windows user. Back there I used an application called cygwin to connect to a Linux server application.
I'm no linux expert at all. But I understand that I should be able to connect to the same linux server's application with the X11 application in my Macbook Pro. I am running Leopard 10.5.

I got a set of special fonts from the Linux server manufacturer.

I did the following:

1.- Executed the X11 application in Utilities.
2.- In the X11 window I typed "startx". It says it is waiting for connections.
3.- Opened a Terminal window, established a ssh session to the lunix server and typed "setenv DISPLAY XX.XX.XX.XX:0" where XX.XX.XX.XX is my Mac IP address.
4.- In the same Terminal window I typed "vmlogin &"

After a few seconds I get the error message that the window can't be opened.....

Any idea ?

It seems as though you're trying to display the remote GNU/Linux X11 applications on your Mac. You can enable X11 Forwarding by using the "-X" switch when initiating your SSH session (Ex: "ssh -X username@server"). This is assuming that your SSH server is configured to forward X11 sessions over SSH. Also, you need to initiate the SSH session from Xterm, not the regular Terminal.app (at least this is how I do it in 10.4). You can try with Terminal.app in 10.5 and see if it enables X11 automatically. If the remote X11 application doesn't display locally, then you need to do it through Xterm.

Also, you need to initiate the SSH session from Xterm, not the regular Terminal.app (at least this is how I do it in 10.4). You can try with Terminal.app in 10.5 and see if it enables X11 automatically. If the remote X11 application doesn't display locally, then you need to do it through Xterm.