FTP questions

angelaf

Registered
Hi

This will probably seen like an easy question, but I'm new to Mac's and unix, and thinking on my own isn't my strong point....so I can't quite figure it out.

I've set up my computer to allow ftp access, and i setup a user, and added them to the ftpchroot file in /etc.

So now they only have access to their home directory and that works all fine and dandy. However... what I would like to do is... set it up so that if I, for example, download a music file to a folder in my home directory... i'd like the OTHER user to have an alias (or something of the sort) to that folder in their directory, so that when the contents of one folder changes for one user it changes for both.

This must be a very easy thing... like changes the privledges on certain folders or something...

Thanks for any tips in advance.
Angela

Welcome to MacOSX.com, Angela.

I think what you want in the directory they can access is a symbolic link. To them, it would look just like a directory, and they would be able to change into that directory if the permissions are set correctly.

Forgive me if the directions I provide seem overly simple. I don't know your skill level, so I will assume that it's minimal.

To make the link (there may be others who know an easier way to do this, but this is what I know so this is what I am posting :) ):
- Go into Terminal, which is in Applications/Utilities directory
- Change to the directory that they can access. If you're not familiar with Unix, an easy way to do this is type "cd " (there is an intentional trailing space there, don't type the quotes in any command I specify). Then in a Finder window, find the folder you want. Drag that folder onto the Terminal window. What you will end up with is the command "cd /The/Full/Path/To/That/Folder". Press enter.
- Type "ln -s " (similar trailing space) and drag the folder you want to share into the Terminal window. Press Enter.