G4 17" Powerbook won't boot?

retrotron

thinking is design
I'm brand new to the world of macs, I know nothing.

My G4 17" Powerbook that I've owned for less than 36 hours suddenly won't start up. I haven't done anything to it except boot it a few times and install a trial version of Flash MX. I did get a kernel panic on boot at one point, but a safe boot fixed that.

When I press the power button, I hear the chimes, and then I hear the disks starting up (hard drive? optical drive?). Then the disks sound like they slow down and stop. Nothing happens. The screen stays blank. It appears the computer is still on, because I can hold the button down for a few seconds and then start it up again (and the same blank screen happens). The installation CD that came with it is in the drive, but holding down the mouse button at boot doesn't eject it.

Power cord and battery seem to be in proper working order, and I've tried it both with and without each of them.

Can anybody help me?

This might be far to trivial, but is your screen brightness turned up?

I doubt this is it... but if you discovered it was this after hours of trying to figure out what was wrong, you'd be kicking yourself.

Josh

Hey thanks for the replies!

As for the RAM, I guess I'd have to open the powerbook to check that, and that would void my warranty, no? I probably should wait until the warranty's up so I can take advantage of free service. Besides, it's only 48 hours old, that'd be an annoying factory error if the RAM was loose. When I do check the RAM, how do I do that in a powerbook?

As for the brightness, I don't even know how to adjust the brightness. I can't seem to find any knobs or buttons or anything that might adjust that. Perhaps the brightness is controlled from the OS on a new Powerbook?