HELP w/ macosX clean install

chicodoggy

machead since 91
Hello - im a osX newbie and am having problems getting my osX to run after deleting several apps and files.

what is installed when you install osX besides the system folder?

how do you do a clean install and/or remove the old osX currently installed?

I get the following error when trying to boot into osX: broken file..... panic... unable to find driver for this .....

something along those lines

what should I do?

I just updated mac os 9.2.2 and my G4 sawtooth's firmware to 4.2.8 f1 prior to this problem.

any help would greatly be appreciated :)

Hmmm....
It really depends on how much you want to keep!

If you don't care, or have everything you want backed up, the simplest thing to do is to just reformat/partition the drive and start over. You'll need a cd with os9 that you can startup off of though. If you just bought Jaguar, it sadly doesn't come with one. But you can still reformat from the Jaguar installer. Just put the jag cd in and start it up.

Somewhere in there, it will ask you if you want to format the target disk, choose yes - making sure NOT to choose UFS. You want hfs+ or hfs, whatever one is NOT UFS. I don't recall being able to partition from the installer.

If you want/have to repartition, you'll need an os9 startup disk. If you have one (should've gotten one when you purchased the computer) then you are in luck! Put that puppy in and restart, holding the option key (I think). When it starts up in 9, find "drive Setup" in the utilities folder on the cd. Format/partition at will. Then install 9 on one partition and then jaguar on the other.

As far as what files are installed, well... I couldn't tell you all of them, but it's a safe bet to stear clear from deleting anything that isn't in your user directory! Let the os handle the System folder for you. It does a decent job.

hope that helps!
J5

Originally posted by J5