how to run *.py (Python) script

jaschawrites

Registered
help! how do i run *.py (Python) scripts downloaded from a trusted source on the internet? they currently open with TextEdit, displaying very readable code--but how do i go about running them?

am running OS 10.4.11 on an iBook G4, have not installed any special software to program in Python or to run Python scripts; looking for simplest possible solution

thanx for any tips

jascha

The most standard way to run them is to open Terminal (in /Applications/Utilities), then type "python " (note the space after "python"), then drag your .py file in the Finder onto the Terminal window. The resulting command should look something like this:
Code:
python /Users/yourname/Desktop/somescript.py
Hit Return to run the script.

That's not the only way, though. My favorite way is to use TextWrangler, a free text editor geared toward programming. You can edit Python scripts and run them right from within TextWrangler.

Hello, I'm a student and just learning to write in python.. and the following was written in class by the instructor and executed and it worked fine.

#Name: *******
#Date: Oct.3, 2011
#Purpose: To ask for two numbers and display their sum

def main():
real number1, number2

print("This program takes two numbers from the user and adds them")
#ask for first number
number1 = float(input("First Number: "))
number2 = float(input("Second Number: "))
#call the function add_numbers
add_numbers(number1+number2)

def addNumbers(n1,n2):
#real n1, n2, sum_of_numbers

sum_of_numbers = n1 + n2

print ("------------------SUM OF NUMBERS---------------------")
print ("First Number:%.2f" %n1)
print ("Second Number:%.2f" %n2)
print ("Sum:%.2f" %sum_of_numbers)
print ("-----------------------------------------------------")
#--------------------------------------------------------------------
main ()