iMac 10 3 9, want to upgrade to Leopard

doughnut

Registered
Ok. I looked everywhere and just can't see a thread for this completely. I have an iMac 10 3 9, PowerPC G4, and I would like to upgrade to Leopard. What would I need to do and is it even possible. I am not too amused so far by what I've come across on the internet that suggests that I can't do this. I bought this computer in 2004, it surely can't already be obsolete? Do I need to go to Tiger, then Leopard. Someone on the Apple forums said you could buy a complete install that would do the trick. I am a novice, so I don't know.

So long as you meet the minimum requirements for Leopard, you should be able to upgrade using the full retail installation sold by Apple. Not sure if the upgrade version sold by Apple will upgrade you from 10.3.9 to 10.5.x....it might require at least 10.4 for the upgrade discs.

Thank you. I have only 167 Mhz and 256 MB memory. Is it possible to add up to what is required? The problem I have is that my daughter bought an Ipod nano today and it requires iTunes 8....I am guessing that I can only get this on Leopard...though I don't know if I can get that also on Tiger. What do you think? I think I should be able to go up to Tiger. Man. I can't believe this!!!

I am still running Tiger and have iTunes 8 so there's no problem there ... all you need are the system reqs for Tiger if you don't need Leopard just yet ... I haven't the specs of your Mac at hand but I can't see why you couldn't add the RAM if you haven't enough to run Tiger ... in fact I'd almost bet on it :)

*UPDATE*​

Apple Mac OS X 10.5 Leopard General requirements

• Mac computer with an Intel, PowerPC G5, or PowerPC G4 (867MHz or faster) processor
  • 512MB of memory
  • DVD drive for installation
  • 9GB of available disk space
  • Some features require a compatible Internet service provider; fees may apply.
  • Some features require Apple's .Mac service; fees apply.

Apple Mac OS X 10.4 Tiger Full Specs