iTunes and multiple accounts

huck

Registered
Is it possible to have one centralized folder that holds all my MP3's but accessible by every user on the computer?

I have the "Shared" folder in the users section set as the iTunes folder. As an administrator i can access it. When i make another user the administrator, it will not let them write to it.

Can i do as i wish?

Peace.

Ver

There are a couple ways you can do it.
I have all my mp3's on a seperate hard drive and in the get info screen you can select to 'ignore ownership on volume'

Otherwise you can set permissions on the folder to make it readable/writable by everyone.
Type the following in the terminal 'chmod 777 (folder name)'

I believe you can also do this from the get info window in the finder. Get info on the folder and then set acess to "Read & Write" for all of the options (Owner, group, and other)

Better still, you could create an "mp3" group, and grant that group read, write and execute permissions.

Creating the group is pretty easy in Netinfo Manager (located in the Utilities folder). Open the app, authenticate yourself (click the lock) then click on groups. You'll see that each group has a name, a password, and a gid (group ID number) and a list of users in the group.

The password field is holdover from ancient UNIX history, and for security reasons should always be set to "*". The gid is the unique identifier that differentiates one group from another (well, that and the name, but when it comes right down to it, the OS uses the gid). the name is the convenient handle for humans to refer to the group. It is good UNIX manners to reserve the first 100 gids for the system. In practice, I like to start my additional gids at 1000 or even 10000.