MBP won' go into Sleep mode on its on...

cmalberto

Registered
I have a brand new MBP 15". I upgraded to Leopard a day after I bought. This is my first experience with a Mac so I am still learning. So far so good. However, I have noticed that my MBP will not go into sleep mode from non-use while plugged into power. I have it set(Custom) for 2 hours. Not sure where to go for help other than here. I am guessing someone probably has seen this before.

I am not sure if there is a log to go look at or where it might be. Any help on what to do or look for will be much appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

--Mickey

Yes - it goes to sleep when I close the lid or press the power button and select sleep. I have tried on power and battery. Neither works. I have adjusted the times down to 5 minutes. Still no go.

I gotta think there is service(what are the called on the Mac) or something preventing Sleep mode. I just don't know how to find this at least yet.

I have not tried the AUTO OFF feature in prefences which could work around the issue But if I could figure this out, I might begin to learn something about the technical workings of the Mac.

--Mickey

Will it work if you move the sleep slider all the way to the left so it will go to sleep in one minute? One thing I might ask is if you have something like the DVD player running at the same time. There is an way for programs like that to prevent the system for sleeping since it kind of is annoying when the thing falls asleep during a movie or presentation.

Look at Console (Applications> Utilities) when it's not going to sleep.
For seeing faster what is causing it, set time for sleep e.g. 5 minutes, and see what happens. If something is keeping it awake, something should be showing in console.log and system.log.