nat problem

kimis

Registered
Hi,

I have read the thread on an earlier question concerning port forwarding and nat problems posted by a mac newbie .(http://macosx.com/tech-support/azureus-port-forwarding/13263.html). I found myself in a similar situation after installing a wireless router, and I am also very new to this.

My internetconnection goes via the cable. I have a arris broadband modem that is connected to the cable (in the wall). When I installed my wireless router I followed the instructions, connected the line from the broadband modem to the belkin wireless (Belkin F5D7230-4) .and from the wireless to a older pc toshiba laptop. Via the airport connection on my macbookpro I can connect to my broadband. My internet works fine, the only thing, now I have a nat problem.

If I ty to change my dynamic ip adress on my mac, I loose the internetconnection. My Ipadress is 192.168.2.2 subnet 255.255.255.0 and router 192.168.2.1 using DHPC. I also have the mac adresses of both the cable and wireless.
I have tried using safari to get to my router, but this doesn't work.

Am I trying to forward the wrong thing? Any help?

Kim

Your on DCHP at the moment then? This worked fine for me.

Open azureus and check which ports you are using (its easier to have the two ports the same). Next connect to your router and port forward the port from azureus as UDP and TCP. Restart your router and you should be good to go.

Hi,

Thanks for the fast answer. It is good to know i dont need a static ip adress and all that. I have tried connecting to my router but it doesnt work. I read somewhere i had to open it through safari, tried that but no luck. How do I connect to my router, via system preference. I have no idea, sorry.

kim

You type its IP address into Safari's address bar. Most routers usually have the IP address 192.168.2.1 by default. Unless youve changed it, try this. Otherwise check your manual to see what the default IP address is.

hi,