Need to learn graphics manipulation...

Hypernate

McGeek
Hey

Uh, I'm a high school student, and I'm trying to earn money by photography, and then editing them in photoshop or other software like that.

Unfortuantely, my skill pretty much stops at basic flash programming, so, does anyone know of any good apps and books to help me learn to do it a bit better, availible in Australia?

Thanks,
Tom

could you be more specific? are you just looking for editing tools, or something like photoshop? in other words, what kind of enhancing are you wanting to do?:confused:

also, are you looking for osx apps, classic apps (os9 or earlier) or either?

Hi there! Where in oz are you? :D

Adobe has a cut-down version of PhotoShop called "PhotoShop Elements" which is intended to provide a slightly easier interface by leaving out things like paths and actions. I would recommend, though, that you bite the bullet and get into PhotoShop. It does look intimidating at first, but you have to remember that 95% of its features are only used 1% of the time. I'd also recommend that you not bother with getting add-ons and plug-ins to begin with as they will only confuse you; and the money would be better spent on a graphic tablet or loud shirts (I haven't met a high ranked Aussie designer who didn't wear a ridiculous shirt).

I have never tried any of the PhotoShop books other than the manuals, which are very technical. I have picked up a handful of related magazines, and find 'Australian Design and Graphics' (I think) very good. ADG is slender but has a regular column on some specific technique under PhotoShop, such as how to use the stamp tool (my favourite) or handle layer transperancy.

You can learn a lot through experimentation, but don't get hung up on the Filters. Most people go crazy with these; and there are so many of them that you could waste a whole week without getting any real results. The only filters I use regularly are:
- Unsharp Mask