Networking between Mac OS X and Windows XP

Veljo

Mac Enthusiast
OK so I'm new to networking. My friend gave me a network card for my PC which I installed, so I connected my LCD iMac to my PC using a standard cable. Upon choosing 'Connect to server' from the Go menu my PC popped up and I connected and everything worked fine: I can see the hard disk of the PC and use files from it too so I'm happy. My PC cannot see my Mac: in My Network Places it doesn't show up. I would also like to know how to share an Internet connection: that is, if I was connected to the Internet with my Mac (standard 56k dial-up) how could I set up my PC so that it would use the same connection? I also have a Hewlett-Packard DeskJet 810C printer connected to my PC and I would like to get my Mac to print from it too: any suggestions?

To get your iMac to show up on your windows box, you'll need to have Windows File Sharing on. (System Preference -> Sharing). That will at least make the computer show up. To actually share any files, you will have to create users and shares. There are about 6 threads on this already, so I'm not going to get into that.

To sharing your internet connection is simple too. System Prefs -> Sharing -> Internet Tab. There are about 5 threads on this already, so I'm not going to go into too much detail. Basically, be connected to the net, click start and use DHCP on your windows box.

To print from your mac to your PC you will need to enable SAMBA printing. There are several threads that cover this, so I'd suggest you just do a search for "Printer Sharing" and you should be able to find an excellent howto on that issue. Just make sure that there are printer drivers for your model, or download gimp-print which has a bunch.

Uhm, just a quick note here. If your "cable" is connected from Mac to PC with no hub, switch, router, etc inbetween, you can keep trying till the damned cows come home hammered out of their mind on White Russians, but she aint never gonna work