Printing to a Jetdirect on a limited NT network...

Tim_Mahan

Registered
I am working at Taylor University where Mac users and PC users are very split, and there is not much support for the Maclab, and I am having trouble printing to a network printer.

The network is a managed windows 2000 server, and all printers on jetdirects have specified IPs and queue names. Instead of trying to connect to the printer through samba and having to validated with the NT domain, I want to connect with raw...the standard on the jetdirect...by using LPR (I think I am getting all the lingo right, I am new to some of this). When I connect I type the IP then raw because thats set up on the jetdirect (ie 10.50.60.10/raw1) using the lpd/lpr protocall. As far as I know this should work, but when I go to print I get a first page out that has this error:

%!PS-Adobe-3.0
%RBINumCopies: 1
%%Pages: (atend)
%%Title:

and has a little bit more about the file I am printing then spits out page after page of nothing. I am attempting to print on a HP laserjet 2100, and I have Jag 10.2.5 I also have gimp-print and eps ghostscript installed with the newest versions.

I am unsure of whats wrong, wether it is print drivers, network issue, hardware issue or what...but I really need to have this all working before students come in three weeks and classes start. Let me know if anyone has any ideas, it would be most appreciated.

Thanks
Tim
Taylor University