Reinstalling OS X...

simX

Unofficial Mac Genius
What do you guys think is the best way to reinstall OS X? I have been having a lot of recent problems with the Dock and the SystemUIServer process (see this thread: http://www.macosx.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=13318 ).

Should I just reinstall OS X 10.1 (I burned a copy of the full install CD via the update CD, and yes I bought the full version), and then re-update to 10.1.2 and all that, or will there be problems (I remember hearing that Apple said it's "dangerous" to do this)? Or should I just back up my User folder, rename my Applications folder so it doesn't conflict, and do a clean install (by deleting all of the other stuff -- the /Library, /System, /Users, and the mach files that are invisible)?

What would be the best way... and I'd like some opinions from people who have actually been in my situation..

well, i have no experience with console errors so i can't help you there. I also don't know how doing the full install of osx 10.1 will work going over the top of 10.1.2. lots of people say it doesn't work.

there are several threads in which we have argued about reinstalling over the top of existing osx. apple recommends against it with pretty vague wording at best to say why. several of us have done it with either better or no worse results than before by starting with original install disk and then updating all the way thru.