Software Installation & Hybrid CDs

gbaatard

Registered
Hi all,

Not quite sure what forum to post this in - I'm still rather new to the whole scene. Sorry if it's in the wrong place.

Anyhow. I'm making a CD to distribute copies of EndNote (a referencing/citation application) to university students.

The CD needs to work on both Macs and PCs - OS X and Win 2000/XP in particular, but compatibility for older OS's would be good. For this purpose, I'm hoping to create a Hybrid CD. Pretty sure I've sorted that part out (on my windows machine - i dont have much access to a Mac currently)

The CD is to contain an XHTML interface which introduces the program and has a few demonstrations (quicktime movies) and a guide (pdf)... That's done and i cant see it causing any more problems.

The CD contains installers for QuickTime and Adobe Reader, for both Windows and Mac OS's.

The CD also needs to contain copies of EndNote 9 for both operating systems.

Here's where the problem comes in: I've got the Mac installer CD for EndNote. It's HFS+ formatted, and from my poking around it simply asks you to drag the EndNote folder to anywhere on your Mac to install it.
Looking at the files on the CD, i'm not sure if there's a single installer file, such as a 'setup.exe' or an msi file on Windows.

We want users to install EndNote via the XHTML interface, by clicking a link. The QuickTime and Adobe Reader installers for Mac were in the form of a single dmg file - that's what i was kinda expecting to find on the Mac EndNote CD...

There's enough room on the Hybrid CD to put the whole Mac EndNote CD on there if needed, but it still needs to be able to be launched via a link in the interface (ie from a single file)...

How can i do this?
While I'm here, any tips on creating a Hybrid CD on a windows pc would be great - Will the dmg files i downloaded (on/to a windows pc) work on a Mac when burnt as a HFS/ISO hybrid?

Thanks very much :)