Swithing to Mac and OSX - is it worth it for me?

Darkelve

Registered
I've been a Windows user for the longest time... ever since Dos became replaced with Windows 3.1 as that's what my dad used, all the way up to Windows XP, which is what I'm running now on my desktop computer, in dual-boot with SuSe Linux 10.1.

I've been using Linux for over 4 years now... and I like it much better than Windows... I don't like M$ for ethical reasons but aside from that I find that Windows offers me much less functionality, unless you add a dozen of 3d-party apps to it, and then still.

In the near future it'll be time to upgrade again, and I'm sort of building a business case as to which platform will allow me to be the most productive in my tasks. I consider myself to be a 'power user' (although not a 'geek') and I'd like to go beyond the limits of what I'm doing right now. Only Windows doesn't allow me to do that and Linux up to a certain extent.

The problem is, I have no clue what the Mac is like... it's like an alien landscape to me ATM.

So I'm just going to try to describe the most important tasks I have to use the computer for, and I apologize for the avalanche of information and questions:

1. Website Development, Maintenance, Image Editing
For my job, I do manage the content of my company's website, using a Html-Editor (Html-Kit). However, I'm thinking about starting a small business of my own developing websites for private persons and small companies.