Trouble installing Leopard.

orun

Registered
Hello forum!

I'm really new to mac, know very little of the ins and outs of OS X.
Was recently gifted my brother's Macbook (he got one of those new Pro's). He gave me two Leopard recovery disks (Mac OSX install 10.5.2) and told me to format and install a new OS.

I inserted the 1st disk and after selecting the language received the error: "This software cannot be installed on this computer". Now I contacted my brother, who told me to format it first.

Being a smart-ass computer user (I usually use Debian linux), that sounded easy enough, so I erased the MACHD partition in using the disk utility, effectively deleting any operating system that was already on there.

Then I tried again but it didn't work.

I've tried googling my error and have searched through quite a few forums/ support sites, where the most common suggestion is to do something called "archive and install". However, I do not think I can access this option.

I really hope I do not have to venture to the Mac store to resolve this.
Any help is greatly appreciated! -- Thanks in advance.

I have access to the terminal and I know my unix well (although I'm otherwise mac illiterate) - if I can do anything from there..?

Those were not recovery discs. They were System Restore discs. Each is intended to restore a specific model Mac to its as-shipped state. You cannot pick-up a random System Restore disc and stick it into a random Mac and expect it to work.

BTW, there is such a thing as a recovery disc for your Mac. It is intended to boot your computer and allow you to run a few select system maintenance and file recovery utilities. AppleCare is an obvious example. They, however, are not used to install a new OS,

Thanks for responding so promptly!