Writing HTML on a MAC OS X??

AjAy2

Registered
I am new to macs, I was just wondering if anybody could tell me what program they use to write HTML on a Mac?

I use to use Notepad on Windows XP, but can only find TextEdit on the Mac, and that dont let me..

Also, does anybody know if the Mac has a built in calculator? Simply question but I cant find one...

Cheers all

AjAy

You can write HTML using TextEdit. Under Format, choose Make Plain Text so that the file saved will be plain text files and not RTF.

There is a calculator on OS X. It's called Calculator and it should be in your Applications folder.

i use a program called BBEdit Lite. it is a great program and has a non-freeware version called BBEdit which is much more powerful. My brother uses a program called SubEthaEdit. I have used it a little bit on his system and it is nice but just have not taken the time to test it out myself. the nice thing about SEE though is that you can have multiple people editing the same file if that is needed for you. SEE and BBEdit both have syntax coloring which is VERY nice. BBEdit Lite does not. I was also just made aware of a program called HyperEdit that i have just barely started to use. it is nice because it will show you a live view of what the webpage looks like.

i currently use a program on windows called selida. it lets you see the changes graphicly as you code. so, if for example, you change a margin, you can see how the layout will change. anyone know of anything like this on mac?

I use OmniWeb's source editor for most of my HTML writing, TextEdit is good too (as long as you switch to plain text mode).

I also use TextEdit in Rich Text mode for writing and then use Create (via the Services menu) to convert Rich Text to HTML so I don't have to write all the tags when I'm typing.