2gigs of RAM will fix all my problems right?

billcd

Registered
I am new to Photoshop so I really don't notice it being slow with Rossetta while doing any of the light stuff that I do. However, I generally have Photoshop, Dreamweaver, 2 or 3 copies of Firefox open and then a couple of terminal windows open; all at the same time when doing web stuff.

Ok, I think my problem is obviouse but I am going to go ahead and ask since I am VERY new to Apple.

When I am in Dreamweaver, everything is working fine, then I alt-tab into Photoshop, blllblblobbllkj, its 30-60 untill I can use Photoshop. :( Photoshop runs fine, but then when I alt-tab back over to Dreamweaver, same thing, 30-60 seconds of waiting.

It seems like the system is caching the programs on the hard-drive since I only have 512MB of RAM. Then it is having to pull it back off the hard-drive for me to use it.

Thanks for the help!

I wouldn't try to do half that stuff with 500MB ram. First thing I did was up the memory after I bought this machine.

Look at the Page ins/outs in Activity Monitor.

Not only that, it will bring world peace. Doves will fly free. World leaders will offer each other olive branches. The rich will give to the poor, the happy will smile with the sad, and Jesus and Pals will have a nice organic meal of fish and fine wine.

Seriously, Yes. RAM will greatly improve your application-switching time. Dunno if it will solve ALL your problems, but the vast majority of them, probably.

adambyte said:
Not only that, it will bring world peace. Doves will fly free. World leaders will offer each other olive branches. The rich will give to the poor, the happy will smile with the sad, and Jesus and Pals will have a nice organic meal of fish and fine wine.

Seriously, Yes. RAM will greatly improve your application-switching time. Dunno if it will solve ALL your problems, but the vast majority of them, probably.