7600 - Turn Off OS X?

CreativeOne

Registered
I just got done doing an install of OS X (registered copy) on my old 7600 upgraded with an XLR8 G3 300 1MB Backside. By the way, UtilityX works great! I was initially only going to install Darwin on the system and tinker with it as a mail server for myself. There really isn't any real reason for doing this other than learning BSD and having projects to do. The system only has 96MB of Ram, but OS X runs surprisingly well. I had a copy of the Darwin 1.3.1 sent to me on CD from deamonnews. I figured I would use UtilityX with the CD, but it wasn't a bootable volume. I tried to do the image restore & then reinstall the UtilityX libraries, but it didn't seem to work. Someone told me you can disable OS X from booting, and then install xwindows or GNU. I figured the system might be a little peppier if I only ran BSD vs. the entire OS X package. I am a major newbie to the whole Linux arena, but that was the point of doing projects on other systems. I could screw up and re-install without loosing all of my info. I run OS X on my Pismo PB 400 with a 20 gig travelstar - 192MB of ram - airport. (Works Great with the exception of my permissions problems I am having with a few files <see trouble shooting forum>)

The question here is: Can you turn OS X off like I was told. If so what is the procedure (extreme newbie here)

More Info For Whatever Reason: