Air Tunes -- Airport Express only?

phinsman

Registered
I've been trying to research the Air Tunes thing, because I'd really like the idea of putting speakers throughout the house. I have a question or two about it that I haven't really found an answer to in my searches.

My first question is this...are there any alternatives to the Airport Express? $129 is quite a bit for just the ability to put speakers somewhere. I have my iMac wired, as well as most of the house, so I don't really need it to be wireless.

That brings up another question...anybody know a good place to buy the Airport Express cheaper, besides eBay? Again, I can't get past the thought of paying over $100 just to place a pair of speakers somewhere.

Thanks very much. I'm new to the Mac after years with (of course) Windows, and a few years with Linux as my main system at work and home.

Dale

Airtunes is currently only available on the Airport Express. I'd like to point out that I think the Airport Express is Apple's single most under-estimated product ... its an 802.11g router at a price-point that competes well with all the other 802.11g routers out there, but is compact, self contained (whereas all the others use a power brick), has a built in print server and digital audio streaming using a lossless codec and with both analog and optical-digital out. It fully supports PCs and Macs. I'm surprised it hasn't sold better.

I like mine mostly for Airtunes, but also for the fact that I can move my iMac anywhere in the house and have Internet access.