Airport Express and Linksys...

ocelot

Registered
Just thought I'd pass this along - after much frustration I finally found out how to get my new Airport Express to talk to my Linksys 802.11g router. I'm no expert but it seems that if you try to use WEP security with a Linksys router the Airport express will not be able to join the network. Switching the network over to WPA with a shared key solved everything for me and now the thing works like a charm and sounds excellent. I also recommend (unless you're totally clueless and have all Apple hardware) using the "Airport Admin Utility" to set things up - this gives you far more options than the "Airport Express Setup Assistant."

The Airport Express puts out out a good strong signal (will still require a preamp though). The sound of a streamed CD is just as good as a CD played locally on my system (Adcom preamp and power amp, Quart III speakers). While the Quarts are real nice speakers I hope to upgrade to Sonus Fabers later this year... those things are the bomb - hope this helps someone - john.

Could you please post a complete step by step on how to bridge a linksys which has already been flashed and an airport extreme? The express essentially is a toned down version.
Thanks.

I was able to connect to a lynksys WAN with the AP-Extreme, so I can't imagine why it would be too much different with the express. I connected with WEP-128 hex encryption.

BloodShotEyes said:
I was able to connect to a lynksys WAN with the AP-Extreme, so I can't imagine why it would be too much different with the express. I connected with WEP-128 hex encryption.

Worked for me too.. however I am using WPA (tkip) now as its more secure and I dont have to remember the WAP key.

I connect my Airport Express to my Linksys WRT54G using WDS so I can stream music and plug my xbox into the ethernet port and connect to xbox live.

Instructions found here: http://weblogs.java.net/blog/inder/archive/2004/10/