Apple does not give a F...

umlaaat

Registered
I'm a music producer who heavily relies on my G5 Quad 2.5 to mix, produce, record, arrange and sketch ideas.
Most of my day is taken up doing the above, and if not then I'm with my kids and/or taking care of family/home issues.
I'm a straight up dude, who's very thankful to be able to live out his dreams and have an amazing family to support me.

I take care of all my gear. This is my livelihood, I have to. I routinely dust out my machines, update my OS, maintain integrity of drives, keep unnecessary stuff off, etc..

Up until 6 days ago, I was in my zone, working on different projects when out of nowhere, my mac just died.
I tried every single thing i could think of and research. Including: swapping out drives, starting via firewire target disk mode, boot from dvd, swap out the 3v battery for a new one, swapped out ram, reseated video card, pmu reset button, safe boot, reset nvram, pram, spam, ham... even applied a hair dryer to the logic board (advice of someone), all of which did nothing.

Beyond confused and frustrated, i googled for about 5 hours and came upon board after board of people going thru the same thing. Their issues matched mine, mostly verbatim. And it turned out the G5 logic board was the culprit. Most of the people with this issue were running a dual, but there were a lot with quads like mine.

I'm going to quote someone on forums.macworld.com:

After reading the IBM techdoc, having another company do the r/r/r process might not be such a good idea.
The IBM doc explains that there was an enhanced process used for this that a 3rd party might not be aware of or capable of.

This could result in rapid degredation of the reworked connections if the underfill isn't performed along with the use of the right solder medium.

The G5 chip simply can't maintain integrity with standard soldering techniques because the 970 module and the actual G5 card have different thermal stress tolerances.