apple script?

wolf_pack

Registered
Does anyone program with apple script? i'm just learning to mess around in it but if there is something better for osx because it will be awhile before i upgrade to tiger because of my budget please let me know? I want to learn anything i can in programming from scratch and just learning everything i need to know so programmers give someone help in need...thanks so much..Terry...

Right. AppleScript's great, but it's a specialized kind of tool. If you want to write your own applications (with windows and buttons and all that application-y goodness), install Apple's free developer tools and use XCode.

AppleScript's strength lies in controlling other programs and automating complex tasks. For example, I have a script to do a simple find-and-replace operation on a bunch of files' names using the Finder. It's much easier than renaming every file manually. I also have a whole bunch of scripts that perform various operations on groups of tracks in iTunes.

'... but if there is something better ...' - ask numerous persons 'what programming language is better', and most will have different opinions.

AppleScript is a scripting language; but, its individual scripts can be self contained, self fulfilling, and saved as a double-click able 'AppleScript applet'.
The code can remain in script form - and accessed (for instant execution) via the 'Script Menu' (available via '/Applications/AppleScript/AppleScript Utility') or 'FastScripts' (or 'FastScripts Lite').

While limited in user interface (a dialog box with static text, a text entry field, up to three buttons, ... - with the ability to accept password text and / or closing after a set number of seconds), AppleScript can be expanded (in its user interface and access to MacOS X functionality) via 'AppleScript Studio'. One programs in 'AppleScript Studio' via 'Xcode' ('/Developer/').