auto dump of user trash??

closer

Registered
Question #2 .... another easily done task in MacMgr but can't find out where to do this in WKGrpMgr... when a student sends a file to trash it stays there until they manually delete it... can this be set to auto delete the trash when anything is dumped in there?

Well, if you want, either empty the trash with a script at login, logout, or with a cron task that runs every x minutes.

Here's something to work around an AD user not being able to empty the trash. Its simple and just deletes the contents of the trash for the logged in user.

#!/bin/bash
#Empty trash in an AD Domain
#
#Written by Michael Dhaliwal

#Kiss your trash good bye!
rm -rf ~/.Trash/*
echo "Done!"
exit

Hi Go3

thanks for another speedy reply... but its the noknowledgeofscripting guy here... (but ready to learn)... I'm not completely terminal illiterate though... so I'm a touch above newbie in this respect!

Go3iverson said:
Well, if you want, either empty the trash with a script at login, logout, or with a cron task that runs every x minutes.

Here's something to work around an AD user not being able to empty the trash. Its simple and just deletes the contents of the trash for the logged in user.

#!/bin/bash
#Empty trash in an AD Domain
#
#Written by Michael Dhaliwal

#Kiss your trash good bye!
rm -rf ~/.Trash/*
echo "Done!"
exit

ok.. so where do I put the above script... and I like the idea of the cron that actually deletes the .Trash location... would this do this for all users on the server... sounds like a plan to me!

Put the script someplace where it can be called properly. I usually say Users/Shared simply because its the most straight forward place for most folks. Its not a powerful script, so if someone were to steal it, they'd just empty their own trash. :)

I do server work all day, night and weekend, so speedy replies are usually my forte. ;)

It is possible to delete all Users .Trash files

First you need to establish