Building a web site?

fongster

Registered
Hi, is there any inexpensive/free web-authoring software for mac OS9? I need to build a really simple site (basically a few linked pages with text and a few graphics) and don't want to invest in dreamweaver, etc. Thanks.

When I started learning website development, I found geocities.com to offer a great site-building tool. Give them a shot, it's free.

Try bbedit lite. its free, but you'll need to know HTML. Otherwise search on versiontracker, or just in google.

Geocities is easy to use and it has a number of interesting features. For a simple example, check out my computer science teacher's example: www.geocities.com/bvlarson.

I recommend you learn HTML and CSS and code your pages by hand. This will produce exactly what you want with a simplicity of code.

If web design isn't your thing, learning HTML or CSS is going to be a major waste of time.

Best thing to do if you're still in 9 is to look on ebay for either Adobe PageMill or Claris Home Page. Both should be inexpensive and easy to use. Adobe used to have an upgrade program for PageMill 3.0 owners letting them upgrade to GoLive 6.0, but I think it ended with the release of GoLive CS.

If you find that you enjoy doing web pages and sites, then it might be worth your time to learn some coding. At least with these products, you'll get a feel for what you can produce.

For most people it ends after doing a few pages... which is not worth the time and energy needed to learn coding pages by hand.

Coding by hand is like sewing by hand, sure you can do it, and knowing how is always helpful, but I'd still rather have a sewing machine there to get a majority of the work done. ;)

The problem with "sewing machines" is the same as with desktop publishing some years ago: "Oh, look at all those fonts! I've gotta use them all!" ... Not Pretty! ...